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Dear Mr. Valeska:

Rules of Criminal Procedure — Warrants —
District Attorneys — Service of Process and
Summons — Fines — Penalties — Notices —
Houston County

A court in a criminal case may issue a
warrant for the arrest of the defendant for
the failure to appear at a hearing to show
cause for the failure to pay a fine after
notice of the hearing has been mailed to
the defendant’s last known address.

Subject to the limitations of Rule 26.11 of
the Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure,
the court may place a nonindigent
defendant in jail for failure to pay a fine
after the defendant has completed his or
her sentence or probation for the
underlying offense. The defendant may
serve time until the fine is paid or no
longer than one day for each $15 of the
fine, no longer than the maximum term of
imprisonment for the offense, and no
longer than one year if the offense is a
felony.

This opinion of the Attorney General is issued in response to your

request.

QUESTIONS

(1) May the circuit court issue an alias warrant
for failure to appear at a show cause hearing on the
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nonpayment of a fine in a criminal case, even though
the defendant did not receive personal service of the
hearing notice under Rule 34.4 of the Alabama Rules of
Criminal Procedure?

(2) May a nonindigent defendant be held up to
one year for each $15 owed where the defendant has
completed his or her sentence or probation under Rule
26.11 of the Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure?

FACTS AND ANALYSIS

Your request states as follows:

I am writing with a request for an opinion with
regard to failure to pay in criminal cases. [ am trying
to get some uniformity in the enforcement of
nonpayment cases within this circuit and the state.
Currently, we are sending notice of a show cause
hearing to the defendant at his last known address of
record pursuant to Rule 34.4 of the Alabama Rules of
Criminal Procedure. In the event the defendant fails to
appear, we then request a warrant be issued for his or
her arrest. Some of the circuit court judges seem to
feel that we must prove that the defendant was, in fact,
served before an alias warrant can be issued. Based on
this rule, have we done all that is necessary for service
to issue a warrant for nonappearance?

I would also request an opinion on how to handle
the defendant once he or she gets to court to, again,
acquire some uniformity in this regard. I have looked
at Rule 26.11 of the Alabama Rules of Criminal
Procedure, which seems to allow that a defendant who
is not indigent can be held for up to one year for each
$15 owed. This seems to be true even if the defendant
has reached his end of sentence on the original case or
released from probation. This rule is not followed in
this circuit.

Regarding your first question, Rule 34 of the Alabama Rules of Criminal

Procedure governs form, contents, and service of motions and requests.

34.4 specifically provides for service and filing. It states as follows:

Rule
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Unless otherwise provided in these rules, notice
of any hearings at which the defendant’s presence is
required shall be served on the defendant, and, if the
defendant is represented by counsel, also upon counsel.
As to all other notices or documents, where the
defendant is represented by counsel, service shall be
made upon the attorney of record. Service upon the
defendant and the attorney shall be accomplished by
delivering or by mailing copies to their last known
addresses, or, if no address is known, by leaving copies
with the clerk of the court. Reasonable alternative
methods of service on the attorney may be approved by
the court.

ALA. R. CRIM. P. 34.4 (emphasis added). This rule permits service of notice of a
hearing by mail to the defendant’s last known address. It does not require
personal service.

This Office has observed that, “[u]nder Rule[] 9.1(¢c), . . . the court may
issue a warrant of arrest for the defendant’s failure to appear at arraignment or
other date. ALA. R. CRIM. P. 9.1(¢). .. .” Opinion to Honorable Kristi A. Valls,

Limestone County District Attorney, dated April 18, 2005, A.G. No. 2005-113,
at 5. In addition to the authority to issue a warrant for the failure to appear at a
show cause hearing on the failure to pay a fine, the court is authorized to issue a
warrant solely on the failure to pay under Rule 26.11, which specifically
governs the imposition and nonpayment of fines and restitution. ALA. R. CRIM.
P.26.11. Opinions to Honorable Robert W. Ennis, Attorney, City of Tuscaloosa,
dated June 6, 2007, A.G. No. 2007-103; and Honorable George C. Simpson,
District Judge, Clay County, dated May 6, 1987, A.G. No. 87-00170.
Therefore, the court may issue a warrant for the arrest of the defendant for the
failure to appear at a hearing to show cause for the failure to pay a fine after
notice of the hearing has been mailed to the defendant’s last known address.

Regarding your second question, the Ennis opinion stated that a
municipal judge could place the defendant in jail until the fine is paid or no
longer than one day for each $15 of the fine. That opinion opined as follows
regarding the remedies for nonpayment available to the court:

After conducting an inquiry into the defendant’s
ability to pay under Rule 26.11(g), the judge may use
one of the remedies listed in Rule 26.11(h) such as
. .. “[d]irect[ing] that the defendant be incarcerated
until the unpaid fine . . . is paid, subject, however, to
section (i) of this rule.” ALA. R. CRrIM. P.
26.11(h)(3). Rule 26.11(i) contains a number of
limitations on the incarceration remedy. For example,
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“in no event shall such period of incarceration exceed
one (1) day for each fifteen dollars ($15.00) of the
fine.” ALA.R.CRIM. P. 26.11(i)(1)(i).

Ennis, at 5.

This Office previously issued an opinion to you relating to other
limitations on the incarceration remedy. Opinion to Honorable Douglas Albert
Valeska, District Attorney, Twentieth Judicial Circuit, dated May 26, 2004,
A.G. No. 2004-150. That opinion stated as follows:

[A] court cannot order the defendant to serve additional
time if the aggregate of the time served would exceed
the maximum term of imprisonment authorized for the
underlying offense. See ALA. R. CRIM. P.
26.11(i)(1)(iv). ... Nor may a court order a defendant
to serve time for failure to pay fines, costs, and/or
restitution if the defendant is indigent. See ALA. R.
CRIM. P. 26.11(31)(2). ...

Valeska, at 3. Nor, as you correctly indicate, may a court order a defendant to
serve more than one year if the underlying offense is a felony. ALA. R. CRIM. P.
26.11(1)(1)(i1).

The Valeksa opinion ultimately concluded that Rule 26.11(h) allows a
court to order a defendant to serve time for failure to pay a fine after the
defendant has served his or her sentence for the underlying offense. The rule
also contemplates its application to defendants who have completed probation.
Rule 26.11(f) governs action for failure to pay. Rule 26.11(f)(1) requires notice
to the district attorney for nonpayment by a defendant not on probation, while
Rule 26.11(f)(2) requires such notice to the probation officer for a probationer.
ALA. R. CRIM. P. 26.11(f)(1) & (2). Cf., Ex parte Stewart, 74 So. 3d 944
(2011) (trial court had jurisdiction over proceeding to enforce compliance with
restitution order, although defendant had completed his terms of imprisonment
and probation).

Accordingly, subject to the limitations of Rule 26.11, the court may place
a nonindigent defendant in jail for failure to pay a fine after the defendant has
completed his or her sentence or probation for the underlying offense. The
defendant may serve time until the fine is paid or no longer than one day for
each §15 of the fine, no longer than the maximum term of imprisonment for the
offense, and no longer than one year if the offense is a felony.
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CONCLUSION

A court in a criminal case may issue a warrant for the arrest of the
defendant for the failure to appear at a hearing to show cause for the failure to
pay a fine after notice of the hearing has been mailed to the defendant’s last
known address.

Subject to the limitations of Rule 26.11 of the Alabama Rules of Criminal
Procedure, the court may place a nonindigent defendant in jail for failure to pay
a fine after the defendant has completed his or her sentence or probation for the
underlying offense. The defendant may serve time until the fine is paid or no
longer than one day for each $15 of the fine, no longer than the maximum term
of imprisonment for the offense, and no longer than one year if the offense is a
felony.

I hope this opinion answers your questions. If this Office can be of
further assistance, please contact Ward Beeson of my staff.

Sincerely,

LUTHER STRANGE
Attorney General
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BRENDA F. SMITH
Chief, Opinions Division
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