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STATE OF ALABAMA
OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
ALABAMA STATE HOUSE

TroY KING October 25’ 2006 11 SOUTH UNION STREET

ATTORNEY GENERAL MONTGOMERY, AL 36130
(334) 242-7300
WWW.AGO.STATE.AL.US

Honorable G. Thomas Surtees
Commissioner, Department of Revenue
Post Office Box 320001

Montgomery, Alabama 36132-0001

Ad Valorem Taxes — Homestead Exemption
— Principal-Residence Exemption

Property owned by a person who meets the
criteria necessary to claim a homestead
exemption or the principal-residence
exemption shall receive the full exemption,
not a proportional share, regardless of
whether the person is a joint owner or the
sole owner.

Dear Commissioner Surtees:

This opinion of the Attorney General is issued in response to your
request.

QUESTION

Whether the various homestead exemptions on
property that is jointly owned by two or more persons
should be prorated, based on the claimant’s ownership
interest in the property, or whether the exemption
should apply to the entire value of the property if one
of the owners qualifies for the exemption.

FACTS AND ANALYSIS

Your opinion request asks for clarification regarding the application of
the exemptions for ad valorem taxes on property that is jointly owned by two or
more persons. Section 40-9-19(a) of the Code of Alabama exempts persons
under 65 years of age from the first $4000 of assessed value for state ad valorem
taxes. Three other sections of the Code concern exemptions from ad valorem
taxes for persons who are disabled or are over age 65. Sections 40-9-19(a) and
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40-9-19(d) of the Code of Alabama concern the homestead exemption. Section
40-9-21 of the Code concerns the principal-residence exemption.

The homestead exemption provides, in pertinent part, as follows:

(a) Homesteads, as defined by the Constitution
and laws of Alabama, are hereby exempted from all
state ad valorem taxes. In no case shall the exemption
herein made apply to more than one person, head of the
family, nor shall the said exemption exceed $4,000.00
in assessed value, nor 160 acres in area for any resident
of this state who is not over 65 years of age. The
homesteads of residents of this state, over 65 years of
age, or who are retired due to permanent and total
disability, regardless of age, or who are blind as
defined in Section 1-1-3, regardless of age or whether
such person is retired, shall be exempt from all state
ad valorem taxes.

(d) . .. [R]esidents of this state, over 65 years of
age who have an annual adjusted gross income of less
than $12,000 as reflected on the most recent state
income tax return or some other appropriate evidence,
or who are retired due to permanent and total dis-
ability, regardless of age, or who are blind as defined
in Section 1-1-3, regardless of age or whether such per-
son is retired, homesteads, as defined in the Constitu-
tion and laws of Alabama, are hereby exempted from
ad valorem property taxes levied by any county of this
state including such taxes levied for school districts.
In no case shall such exemption exceed $5,000 in
assessed value, nor 160 acres in area.

ALA. CODE § 40-9-19 (2003) (emphasis added).

Section 40-9-21 of the Code of Alabama provides, in pertinent part, as
follows:

In addition to the persons and property exempt
from ad valorem taxation as prescribed in Section 40-9-
1, the following shall also be exempt from ad valorem
taxation: the principal residence and 160 acres adja-
cent thereto of any person who is totally disabled or
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who is 65 years of age or older having a net annual
taxable income of 37,500 or less, as shown on such
person’s and spouse’s latest United States income tax
return.

ALA. CODE § 40-9-21 (2003) (emphasis added).

Under the established rules of statutory construction, words used in a
statute must be given their natural, plain, ordinary, and commonly understood
meaning, and where plain language is used, a court is bound to interpret that
language to mean exactly what it says. Ex parte Cove Properties, Inc., 796 So.
2d 331, 334 (Ala. 2000); Ex parte T.B., 698 So. 2d 127, 130 (Ala. 1997); State
Dep’t of Transp. v. McLelland, 639 So. 2d 1370, 1371 (Ala. 1994); Opinion to
Honorable Ned W. McHenry, Department of Public Safety, dated October 7,
1992, A.G. No. 93-00018 at 4. Such is the case in these sections.

This Office issued a series of opinions from September 20, 1937, through
February 6, 1991, addressing the rights of joint owners to claim the homestead
exemption. The initial opinion was based on very specific fact scenarios. Over
time, the opinions of this Office lost the fact-specific premise on which the
analysis had rested and came to collectively stand for the general proposition
that joint owners of property who qualify for these exemptions are only entitled
to a proportional share of them. No distinction exists in the law to allow for
apportioning the exemptions. In fact, section 40-9-19(a) of the Code expressly
provides that, in no case, shall the exemption herein made apply to more than
one person or head of the family. This proposition is therefore in conflict with
and ignores the plain language of the above statutes and is hereby vacated. To
the extent that any previous opinions are in conflict with this opinion, they are
expressly overruled.

It is the opinion of this Office that state law grants an exemption in cer-
tain instances:

e Section 40-9-19(a) of the Code of Alabama exempts home-
steads of residents who are under 65 years of age from the
first $4000 of assessed value for state ad valorem taxes.

e Section 40-9-19(a) of the Code of Alabama exempts home-
steads of residents who are over 65 years of age, disabled, or
blind from all state ad valorem taxes.

e Section 40-9-19(d) of the Code exempts the homesteads of
residents who are over 65 years of age making less than
$12,000; or who are totally disabled, or who are blind, from
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the first $5000 of assessed value for county ad valorem taxes,
including those levied for school taxes.

e Section 40-9-21 of the Code exempts the principal residence
and 160 acres adjacent thereto of any person who is totally
disabled or who is 65 years of age or older and whose net
taxable income is $7500 or less from ad valorem taxation.

The test, then, as to whether ad valorem taxes are due on a particular piece of
property is whether an individual property owner qualifies for one of the
exemptions in sections 40-9-19 or 40-9-21 of the Code of Alabama. Such ques-
tions are fact specific and are beyond the scope of an opinion of this Office.

CONCLUSION

Property owned by a person who meets the criteria necessary to claim a
homestead exemption or the principal-residence exemption shall receive the full
exemption, whether the person is a joint owner or the sole owner.

I hope this opinion answers your question. If this Office can be of further
assistance, please contact Noel S. Barnes of my staff.

Sincerely,

TROY KING
Attorney General
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BRENDA F. SMITH
Chief, Opinions Division
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