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Honorable Frank W. Gregory

Administrative Director

Administrative Office of Courts

300 Dexter Avenue

Montgomery, AL  36104-3741

Court Costs ‑‑ Criminal Law ‑‑ Administrative Office - Courts

The criminal history processing fee found in section 12-19-180(a) is a “court cost” as that phrase is used in section 12-19-150, and may be assessed against the defendant if a criminal case (except a non-DUI traffic, conservation, or juvenile case) is dismissed upon payment of the docket fee and the other court costs by order of the judge.

Dear Mr. Gregory:


This opinion of the Attorney General is issued in response to your request on behalf of the Administrative Office of Courts.

QUESTION


When a criminal case is dismissed upon payment of costs pursuant to section 12-19-150(b) of the Code of Alabama, is the $30 criminal history processing fee authorized by section 12-19-180 of the Code considered part of the “costs” which may be taxed against the defendant as a condition of dismissal?

FACTS AND ANALYSIS


Section 12-19-180(a) of the Code of Alabama provides as follows:


In addition to all other costs, fees, or fines prescribed by law, each person convicted of a crime in a municipal, district, or circuit court, except traffic cases which do not involve driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled sub​stances as set out in section 32-5A-191, and con​servation cases and juvenile cases, shall be assessed a criminal history processing fee of thirty dollars ($30).  The assessment shall be automatically assessed by the clerk of the court upon conviction.

ALA. CODE § 12-19-180(a) (Supp. 1998).


It is clear from reading this section that the $30 criminal history processing fee is to be assessed upon conviction in all criminal cases except non-DUI traffic, juvenile, and conservation cases.  This assessment of the criminal history processing fee upon conviction is consistent with the requirement in Rule 26.11(c), Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure, and section 12-19-150(a) of the Code of Alabama, that docket fees and other court costs be assessed upon conviction.  Section 12-19-150 pro​vides as follows:

(a) It is hereby declared to be the policy of the state that docket fees and other court costs in criminal cases shall generally be assessed only upon conviction.  It is further declared to be the policy of the state that a creditor shall not use the criminal process in order to collect civil debts.  The state does recognize that situations will arise from time to time wherein justice may best be served by allowing a judge to enter an order dismissing a case upon the payment of costs by the defendant or by the complainant where the judge has determined that the criminal process has been abused.

ALA. CODE § 12-19-150(a) (1995).


Section 12-19-150(b) provides, in pertinent part, as follows:


Docket fees and other court costs in crimi​nal cases shall be assessed upon conviction; pro​vided that, in the interest of justice, following an arrest or the issuance of a warrant for the arrest of a defendant, a judge may in his discretion, on motion of the district attorney or upon his own motion, enter an order prior to trial dismissing the case.  Such order may be conditioned upon the defendant’s payment of the docket fee and other court costs accruing in the proceeding.

ALA. CODE § 12-19-150(b) (1995).


In addition, the Attorney General opined that the circuit clerk’s office should automatically assess court costs upon conviction unless the judge excuses payment of such costs.  Opinion to Honorable Billy Yates, Circuit Clerk, Etowah County, under date of October 23, 1984, A. G. No. 85-00044.


One of the definitions of “costs” is “[f]ees and charges required by law to be paid to the courts or some of their officers, the amount of which is fixed by statute or court rule; e.g. filing and service fees.”  Black’s Law Dictionary 242 (6th ed. 1990).


With regard to the “other costs” language in section 12-19-150, a similar question was asked in Attorney General’s Opinion 82-00060, dated November 3, 1981, to the then-Administrative Director of Courts, Allen L. Tapley.  In that opinion, the Attorney General concluded that the addi​tional amounts prescribed by Act No. 81-864, which prescribed additional court costs to be charged in certain criminal or quasi-criminal cases in the district or circuit courts to be collected in each case “where the defendant is adjudged guilty or pleads guilty,” must be assessed by a judge when he dismisses a case upon payment of costs.  [Note:  Act No. 81-864 was codified in section 12-19-24 of the Code, which was later repealed by Act No. 83-744, effective September 4, 1983.  Despite Act No. 81-864 being repealed, the rationale for adding other court costs upon dismissal of a case may still be used by analogy].  The Attorney General opined as fol​lows:


We believe that by enacting Act 81-353 [section 12-19-150], our state lawmakers intended that the judge have the authority to assess any costs upon dismissal that are permit​ted in the event of conviction.

Attorney General’s Opinion No. 82-00060 at 2.


Further support that the criminal history processing fee is consid​ered “court costs” may be found in Attorney General’s Opinion 99-00001, issued October 1, 1998, to Honorable Thomas W. Sorrells, Executive Director, Alabama District Attorneys Association.  In that opinion, the Attorney General opined that the amendment of section 12-19-180 of the Code of Alabama from $10 to $30 increased the “court costs” charged in district court for violations of the Worthless Check statute, section 13A-9-13.1 of the Code, and, therefore, increased the amount of the service charge for worthless checks in section 12-17-223(e) of the Code.  Section 12-17-224(e)(i)I specifically provides that the “service charge shall be increased in the same dollar amount as the court costs charged by the dis​trict court of the judicial circuit for violations of section 13A-9-13.1 when the court costs shall be increased.”  ALA. CODE § 12-17-224(e)(i)I (Supp. 1998).


Reading section 12-19-180 of the Code, the statute providing for the assessment of criminal history processing fee, in pari materia with sections 12-19-150(a) and (b) of the Code of Alabama, and following the rationale of Attorney General’s Opinions 82-00060 and 99-00001, the criminal history processing fee should be considered one of the “other court costs” in section 12-19-150(b) to be assessed upon dismissal of a criminal case (other than non-DUI traffic, conservation, and juvenile cases) by order of the judge.

CONCLUSION


The criminal history processing fee found in section 12-19-180(a) is a “court cost” as that phrase is used in section 12-19-150, and may be assessed against the defendant if a criminal case (except a non-DUI traffic, conservation, or juvenile case) is dismissed upon payment of the docket fee and the other court costs by order of the judge.


I hope this opinion answers your question.  If this Office can be of further assistance, please contact Carol Jean Smith of my staff.

Sincerely,

BILL PRYOR

Attorney General

By:

CAROL JEAN SMITH

Chief, Opinions Division

BP/RHM/jaf

11459v1/8073

