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May 24, 1999

Honorable Jan A. Farley

Superintendent, Cullman County Schools

401 Arnold Street, N.E.

Post Office Drawer 518

Cullman, Alabama  35056-0518

Superintendents of Education – Education, Board of – Leave, Annual and Sick – Employees, Employers, Employment

The Cullman County School System, in order to monitor misuse of sick leave, should enforce a policy that allows sick leave to be used only in those instances allowed by state law.  A doctor’s excuse or other justification should not be required in order to honor a sick leave request except in cases of misuse or abuse.

Dear Superintendent Farley:


This opinion of the Attorney General is issued in response to your request.

QUESTION


How can the Cullman County School System monitor unethical use of sick leave?  Can we legally adopt and enforce a board policy that would require a physician’s statement after 3-5 days’ absence from their job?  Can you advise us of the best way to handle this problem?

FACTS AND ANALYSIS


Your request states:


We have employees who accumulate their sick leave days and then, at retirement time, use those days as “off-days” instead of applying them toward retirement credit as intended.  For several years we’ve been having employees take anywhere from a week or so to 2-3 months.  We have other employees who use their sick leave day each month just as soon as they earn it.  This year we have a teacher taking all of the second semester.  Now one of our support personnel is wanting to take off 225 days (this is more than a 175-day school year and most of a one-year contract for his 12-month position of 260 days)!  We must find a way to monitor use of sick leave.


Sick leave of one day a month for employees of county school systems is authorized by section 16-1-18.1(b)(1) of the Code of Alabama.  ALA. CODE § 16-1-18.1(b)(1) (Supp. 1998).  Sick leave for these employees is allowed in the following instances:

(4) Sick Leave.  The absence from duty by an employee as a result of any of the following:

a. Personal illness or doctor’s quarantine.

b. Incapacitating personal injury.

c. Attendance upon an ill member of the employee’s immediate family (parent, spouse, child, sibling); or an individual with a close personal tie.

d. Death in the family of the employee (parent, spouse, child, sibling, parent-in-law, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, nephew, niece, grandchild, grandparent, uncle or aunt).

e. Death, injury, or sickness of another person who has unusually strong personal ties to the employee, such as a person who stood in loco parentis.

ALA. CODE § 16-1-18.1(a)(4).  Sick leave, therefore, can only be used in those instances allowed by state law.


According to section 16-25-11.1 of the Code of Alabama, teachers may use accrued sick leave days to be included as membership service in determining the total years of creditable service in the Teachers’ Retirement System.  ALA. CODE § 16-25-11.1 (1995).


A county school system can adopt policies and procedures regarding sick leave that are within the provisions of section 16-1-18.1 and as required by section 16-1-30 of the Code of Alabama.  ALA. CODE § 16-1-18.1 (Supp. 1998).  Under section 16-1-30, a local board of education is to establish a written educational policy for the board and for its employees pursuant to the guidelines set out in that section.  ALA. CODE § 16-1-30 (1995).  The Cullman School System, therefore, can adopt and enforce a policy allowing sick leave to be used only in those instances allowed by law.


Regarding a policy that would require a statement from a physician after an absence of three to five days on sick leave, this Office has determined that sick leave for teachers and support personnel is a right granted to them by law, and they should not have to present proof of justification before this right is honored by a board of education.  Opinion to Honorable William E. Sinard, Superintendent of the Russell County Board of Education, dated November 3, 1986, A.G. No. 87-00043.  That opinion further stated that if there is probable cause to believe that sick leave is being abused or misused by a teacher or employee, a doctor’s excuse or other justification may be required.  Id. at 4.  Proper notification may be required from an employee that he or she will not attend school on a particular day because of illness or other use of sick leave.  Id. at 4.

CONCLUSION


The Cullman County School System, in order to monitor misuse of sick leave, should enforce a policy that allows sick leave to be used only in those instances allowed by state law.  A doctor’s excuse or other justification should not be required in order to honor a sick leave request except in cases of misuse or abuse.


I hope this opinion answers your question.  If this Office can be of further assistance, please contact Carol Jean Smith of my staff.

Sincerely,

BILL PRYOR

Attorney General

By:

CAROL JEAN SMITH

Chief, Opinions Division
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