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Honorable Gregory A. Kuhlmann

President, Alabama State Board of Chiropractic Examiners

737 Logan Road

Clanton, AL  35045

Chiropractic Examiners, Board of – Chiropractors – Licenses and Permits - Chiropractic Examiners Board

A chiropractic license expires on September 30 if the license has not been renewed.  A chiropractor may not practice without a license.

Dear Mr. Kuhlmann:


This opinion of the Attorney General is issued in response to your request.

QUESTION


Pursuant to section 34-24-165 of the Code of Alabama, does a chiropractic license auto​matically lapse on October 1 of each year, or is the time period between October 1 and December 31 a grace period wherein the chiropractor may still practice?

FACTS AND ANALYSIS


Section 34-24-165 of the Code provides for the annual renewal of a chiropractic license and states in pertinent part:


(a) Every license to practice chiropractic shall expire on September 30 of the year for which it is issued.  Every person having a valid license may on or before September 30 renew the license for the ensuing year by the payment to the State Board of Chiropractic Examiners of a fee of not less than twenty-five dollars ($25) nor more than three hundred dollars ($300), the exact amount to be fixed annually by resolution of the board, accompanied by satisfactory evidence that the per​son has completed during the preceding year a minimum of 18 hours of professional edu​cational work approved by the board.  The board may, for good and reasonable cause shown, waive the edu​cation requirement.  The secretary-treasurer or the executive secretary of the board shall notify each licensee at least 20 days prior to September 30 of each year of the due date for renewal.  In addition to the renewal fee, a twenty-five dollar ($25) late renewal penalty shall be assessed any licensee who fails to pay the renewal fee by September 30 of each year.


(b) Failure, by December 31 of each year, to renew a license and pay the renewal fee, late renewal penalty if applicable, and submit proof of completion of a minimum of 18 hours of approved professional educational work, unless waived, shall operate as a forfeiture of the right of the licensee to practice his or her profession in this state.  A forfeited license may be rein​stated by the board, in its discretion, upon pay​ment of a reinstatement fee as required by Sec​tion 34-24-176, and all past fees due, including the late renewal penalty.  All funds received by the board for annual license renewal fees may be used by the board for education, promotion and welfare of the science of chiropractic.

ALA. CODE § 34-24-165(a) & (b) (Supp. 1998) (emphasis added).


A license may be reinstated pursuant to section 34-24-176 of the Code stating in pertinent part:


In any event any licensee allows his license to lapse and desires to return to active practice, he must apply to the board for a rein​statement of his license and must submit to the board a reinstatement fee of $25.00 together with all back fees.

ALA. CODE § 34-24-176 (1997).


Section 34-24-165 provides that a chiropractic license expires on September 30 of the year in which it was issued.  Section 34-24-123 pro​vides that it is unlawful to practice chiropractic without a license.  ALA. CODE § 34-24-123 (1997).  If the license is not renewed on or by Sep​tember 30, the license may be renewed between October 1 and December 31, but a late renewal fee must be paid.  The time between October 1 and December 31 is essentially a grace period during which a license may be renewed, with the payment of a late fee.  The chiropractor may not con​tinue to practice after September 30 because the license is expired, and a chiropractor may not practice without a license.  If the license is not renewed by December 31, the license is forfeited but may be reinstated pursuant to section 34-24-176.

CONCLUSION


A chiropractic license expires on September 30 if the license has not been renewed.  A chiropractor may not practice without a license.


I hope this opinion answers your question.  If this Office can be of further assistance, please contact Brenda F. Smith of my staff.

Sincerely,

BILL PRYOR

Attorney General

By:

CAROL JEAN SMITH

Chief, Opinions Division
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