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Honorable Karen Roper

Calhoun County Revenue Commissioner

1702 Noble Street

Suite 106

Anniston, Alabama  36201
Tax Sales – Notices – Taxes – Revenue Commissioners – Newspapers – Local Laws
Pursuant to section 45-8-240.31 of the Code of Alabama, the Calhoun County Revenue Commissioner may give notice of a tax sale only by publication in a county newspaper.
Dear Ms. Roper:


This opinion of the Attorney General is issued in response to your request.
QUESTION


Pursuant to section 45-8-240.31 of the Code of Alabama, may notice of a tax sale in Calhoun County only be given by publication in a county newspaper or may notice also be given by posting?
FACTS AND ANALYSIS


In most instances, notice of a tax sale is given pursuant to section 40-10-12 of the Code of Alabama.  This section states as follows:

Immediately at the end of any term of court at which any decree for sales of real estate for the payment of taxes is rendered, or as soon thereafter as practicable, the tax collector shall proceed to enforce such decree by sales of real estate ordered to be sold, and to this end shall give notice for 30 days before the day of sale, by publication for three successive weeks in some newspaper published in the county, or at least three weeks before the day of sale shall post a notice at the courthouse of his county and at some public place in the precinct in which the real estate is situated that at the time specified therein he will proceed to sell such real estate separately, describing such portions as are embraced in each decree and stating the amount for which each decree was rendered (without stating the items of which said decree is composed) and the person against whom the taxes embraced in such decree were assessed or, if assessed to "owner unknown," stating that fact.

Ala. Code § 40-10-12 (2011) (emphasis added).  This particular provision authorizes the tax collector to provide notice by either publication in a county newspaper or by posting notice of sale at the county courthouse and at some public place in the precinct in which the property is located.  Pursuant to section 45-8-240 of the Code, the offices of tax assessor and tax collector were combined to establish the office of Revenue Commissioner in Calhoun County.  Ala. Code § 45-8-240 (2005).

Conversely, section 45-8-240.31 of the Code is a local law specific to Calhoun County.  This local law was authorized by a local constitutional amendment that allows the Legislature to change the method of providing notice for delinquent taxpayers in Calhoun County.  Ala. Const. Local Amends., Calhoun County § 9 (amend. 562).


This provision, among other things, sets out the mechanism by which notice should be given in Calhoun County when a person is delinquent in paying ad valorem taxes.  This statute states, in pertinent part, as follows:
Immediately at the end of any term of court at which any decree for sale of real estate for the payment of taxes is rendered, or as sale of the real estate ordered to be sold, and to this end shall give notice for 30 days before the day of sale by publication, once a week for three consecutive weeks in some newspaper published in the county, that at the time specified therein he or she will proceed to sell the real estate separately, describing the portions referred to in the decree. . . .
Ala. Code § 45-8-240.31(c)(2) (2005).


Under the established rules of statutory construction, words used in a statute must be given their natural, plain, ordinary, and commonly understood meaning, and where plain language is used, a court is bound to interpret that language to mean exactly what it says.  Ex parte Cove Properties, Inc., 796 So. 2d 331, 333-34 (Ala. 2000).  Section 45-8-240.31 of the Code only authorizes notice to be given by publication.  Because this legislation is specific to Calhoun County and is based on a constitutional amendment, it is the opinion of this Office that Calhoun County may give notice of a tax sale only by publication in a newspaper published within the county.
CONCLUSION


Pursuant to section 45-8-240.31 of the Code, the Calhoun County Revenue Commissioner may give notice of a tax sale only by publication in a county newspaper.

I hope this opinion answers your question.  If this Office can be of further assistance, please contact Monet Gaines of my staff.

Sincerely,

LUTHER STRANGE
Attorney General

By:

BRENDA F. SMITH
Chief, Opinions Division
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