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Honorable Luke Cooley

Houston County Judge of Probate

Post Office Drawer 6406

Dothan, Alabama  36302
Privilege License Taxes – Probate Judges – Rentals 
A rental store that rents inflatable devices for children is not subject to license tax under section 40-12-103 of the Code of Alabama.
Dear Judge Cooley:


This opinion of the Attorney General is issued in response to your request.
QUESTION


Is a rental store that rents inflatable devices subject to license tax under section 40-12-103 of the Code of Alabama?
FACTS AND ANALYSIS


Section 40-12-103 of the Code of Alabama states as follows:

For each flying jenny, called also hobbyhorses, and merry-go-rounds, roller coasters, or other devices of like character, there shall be paid a license tax of $50 per year, $20 for each month or $5 for each week in each place in which such device is operated, whether incorporated or not.
Ala. Code § 40-12-103 (2003) (emphasis added).

Under the well-established rules of statutory construction, words used in a statute must be given their natural, plain, ordinary, and com​monly understood meaning, and where plain language is used, a court is bound to interpret that language to mean exactly what it says.  Ex parte Cove Properties, Inc., 796 So. 2d 331, 333-34 (Ala. 2000); Ex parte T.B., 698 So. 2d 127, 130 (Ala. 1997); State Dep’t of Transp. v. McLelland, 639 So. 2d 1370, 1371 (Ala. 1994).  You question applicability of the statute to inflatable “moon walks” and slides used as children’s entertainment at adult functions or private parties that are available as a rental from a rental store.  Section 40-12-103 taxes the operating, not the renting, of the listed devices.

This conclusion is supported by the decision of the Alabama Supreme Court in Bowen v. State, 131 Ala. 39, 31 So. 79 (1901).  In holding that a person can be convicted of aiding and abetting a license tax violation for a flying jenny, the Court characterized the tax as requiring the operator of each jenny to pay the tax, explaining that a person who collects fares for riding a jenny aids and abets its operation.
CONCLUSION


A rental store that rents inflatable devices for children is not sub​ject to license tax under section 40-12-103 of the Code of Alabama.

I hope this opinion answers your question.  If this Office can be of further assistance, please contact Ward Beeson of my staff.

Sincerely,

TROY KING
Attorney General

By:

BRENDA F. SMITH
Chief, Opinions Division
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