January 28, 2008


Honorable Craig Ford

Member, House of Representatives

Post Office Box 8208

Gadsden, Alabama  35902

Ad Valorem Taxes - Assessments - Notices – Equalization, Boards of – Protests – Etowah County
A taxpayer has ten days (or now thirty days) from the date of a statement of increase of valuation of his or her property to file a protest with board of equalization.

Dear Representative Ford:


This opinion of the Attorney General is issued in response to your request. 

QUESTIONS
(1)
If a taxpayer receives notice from the tax assessor stating that a subject property’s valuation is increasing for ad valorem taxation purposes, and the taxpayer has a ten-day period (as the law is on or before August 31, 2007, and as may be amended to allow for additional time after August 31, 2007) to file an appeal with the board of equalization, and for exam​ple, the notice has a date of August 1 printed on it (when the notice was printed by the county), and the taxpayer received it the next day, August 2 (which would be the earliest possible date from the notice date by U.S. mail), and the taxpayer files a written notice of appeal to the board of equalization by certified mail, return receipt, and the notice was postmarked with ten days of receiving the notice or 11 days from the date the notice was printed (but has not been received by the taxpayer), is the taxpayer considered to have complied with the 10-day notice period?
(2)
What effect would the taxpayer receiving the notice several days after the notice date have in changing the answer to Question 1?
(3)
If the taxpayer is deemed to have complied with the 10-day period in Question 1 and the county takes the position that the tax​payer did not comply and the board of equaliza​tion is now out of session, what remedies does the taxpayer have to fix this error?  What requirements would be on the revenue com​missioner, the board of equalization, and the State of Alabama to remedy this situation?
FACTS, ANALYSIS, AND CONCLUSION


Based on the nature of your questions, they will be jointly answered below.  As you mentioned in your request, the ten-day period in which to file a valuation objection or protest before the county board of equaliza​tion has been expanded to thirty days beginning September 1, 2007.  Sec​tions 40-2-18, 40-3-16, 40-3-19, 40-3-20, and 40-7-25 of the Code of Ala​bama were amended by Act 2007-381; passed on June 7, 2007; and approved by the Governor on June 13, 2007.

Section 40-2-18, relating to the procedure after revaluation and equaliza​tion, now reads, in pertinent part, as follows:

Whenever the work of revaluing and equalizing any class or classes of property has been completed by order of the Department of Revenue, as provided herein, and the revised valuation has been entered on the tax return list, the county board of equalization shall certify over their signatures to the correctness thereof and shall deliver the tax return list showing the assessment and revaluation to the assessing offi​cial of the county as their report, and the assess​ing official shall hold them in his or her office subject to public inspection.  The assessing offi​cial shall then give notice by publication once a week for three consecutive weeks in a newspaper published in the county, if any are published in the county and, if no newspaper is published in the county, by posting notices in at least three public places in the county that the county board of equalization has returned its report and that the same is open to public inspection and that the board will convene at the courthouse in the county on a day to be named and fixed in the notice to correct any errors in the valuation.  In the event the property of any owner is increased by the county board of equalization when revaluing and equalizing assessments as pro​vided in this section over the assessed value as originally fixed by the board, the taxpayer shall be furnished by mail or in person, with a state​ment showing separately the revised value of his or her personal property and his or her real property and also that the taxpayer may file in writing with the secretary of the county board of equalization, within 30 calendar days from the date of notice objections, if any are made, to the revalua​tion made as herein provided, and that the county board of equalization will sit on a day to be named and fixed in the notice, when the complaining tax​payer, his or her agent or attorney may appear and produce evidence in support of any objections as filed.  Not​withstanding the foregoing, failure to give or receive the notice shall not invalidate any assessment and the taxpayer shall have the right at any time before the taxes become delinquent to appear before the county board of equaliza​tion and have the assess​ment of his or her prop​erty reopened, if satisfactory proof is made that the taxpayer or his or her agent did not receive notice of the increase.  It shall be the duty of the county board of equalization to convene and sit at the courthouse in its respective county on the day named and fixed in the notices and to remain in session as long as may be necessary for the purpose of hearing objections, if any, that have been filed in writing against the revaluation or equalization so fixed by the board; and at the sitting the complaining property owner may appear in person or by agent or attorney and produce evidence in support of objections to assess​ment valuations as fixed on his or her property.  
Ala. Code § 40-2-18 (Supp. 2007) (emphasis added).

Section 40-3-20, relating to publication of the notice of valuation, now reads as follows:


Immediately upon the completion of the work of reviewing and adjusting assessed valua​tion under the provisions of this chapter, the assessing official shall give notice by publication once a week for two con​secutive weeks in a newspaper published in the county.  If no news​paper is published in the county, the notices shall be posted in three public places in each precinct of the county.  The notices shall state that the assessed valuations of all property listed for tax​ation have been fixed as provided by law, that the tax return lists showing the assessed valua​tions are in his or her office and open for public inspection, that the board of equalization will sit at the courthouse of the county on the date speci​fied by the Department of Revenue to consider any protests that may be filed by any taxpayer as herein provided, and that any taxpayer, who is not satisfied with valuations of his or her prop​erty as fixed and entered on the return lists as required herein, may file objections in writing to the assessed valuations with the secretary of the board, within 30 days calen​dar days of the date of final publication of the notice.  The taxpayer shall set out in the objections filed the descrip​tion of each item of property and his or her rea​son for making objections to the assessed val​uation placed thereon.
Ala. Code § 40-3-20 (Supp. 2007) (emphasis added).

Finally, section 40-7-25 of the Code was amended to reflect this new 30-day protest period.  It now reads as follows:


Except as otherwise provided by law, the assess​ing official shall, from information entered on the tax return list and from all other informa​tion known to him or her, or which he or she may procure, proceed to ascertain what, in his or her best judgment, is a fair and reasonable market value of each item or property returned by or listed to any taxpayer; provided, that the assessed value of any real estate or improvements as fixed for taxation for the year next preceding the then current tax year shall be prima facie the basis of the value of the property for assessment for the current tax year, and the property shall not be assessed for taxation at a less valuation unless, upon evidence submitted to the county board of equalization, as provided for herein, it is found that the assessed valuation of the prop​erty reviewed should be reduced.  The assessing official shall in separate columns enter on the list the amount and value and the deduction for exemption to which the taxpayer is entitled.  The assessing official shall also add to the list any item of property subject to taxation owned by the taxpayer, or in which he or she has any interest whatever and which he or she had failed or omitted to place on the list; and the taxpayer shall be given notice by the assessing official, by mail or in person, of the items of property added to his or her assessment list or times claimed as exempt which are disallowed by the assessing official after the list has been filed and before the assessing official has completed his or her assessment, and the assessing official shall, upon demand, furnish the taxpayer with a certified copy of his or her assessment list so amended.  In the event the value of real or personal prop​erty of any taxpayer is increased by the county board of equalization, herein created, over the assessed value thereof for the next preceding year, the taxpayer shall be furnished by mail or in person, by the secretary of the county board of equalization, with a statement showing sepa​rately the value of his or her personal property, and improvements thereon.  The statement shall be signed by the chair of the county board of equalization and the taxpayer may file in writ​ing, with the secretary of the county board of equalization, within 30 calendar days of the date of the statement, objections to any assessed valuation fixed as herein provided.  Failure to give or receive the notices required in this sec​tion shall not invalidate the assess​ment.  The taxpayer shall have the right any time before the taxes become delinquent to appear before the county board of equalization and have the assessment of his or her property reopened, if satisfactory proof is made that the taxpayer or his or her agent did not receive notice of the increase.  The expense of postage incurred in carrying out the provisions of this section shall be paid in equal proportions by the county and state, upon a certified statement thereof by the secre​tary of the county board of equalization, filed with the court of the county commissioners, or the board of court of like jurisdiction with the Department of Finance.
Ala. Code § 40-7-25 (Supp. 2007) (emphasis added).

Based on the specific language in section 40-7-25, the time to file an ob​jection to the assessed valuation begins to run as of the date of the statement of the increase in valuation.  Under your fact situation given above, the taxpayer’s notice is deemed to be timely filed if postmarked by the 10th (now 30th) day after the date of the statement of the increase.   Section 40-1-45(a)(1) of the Code of Alabama states, in pertinent part, as follows:
(1)  DATE OF DELIVERY.  If any return, claim, statement, or other document required to be filed, or any payment required to be made, within a prescribed period or on or before a pre​scribed date under authority of any provision of this title is, after such period or such date, deli​vered by United States mail to the agency, officer, or office with which such return, claim, statement, or other document is required to be filed, or to which such payment is required to be made, the date of the United States postmark stamped on the cover in which such return, claim, statement, or other document, or payment, is mailed shall be deemed to be the date of deli​very or the date of payment, as the case may be. 
Ala. Code § 40-1-45(a)(1) (2003).

As clearly shown by the statutes, a taxpayer now has thirty days from the date of the notice of increase in valuation to file a protest or objection before the board of equalization.  Under the scenario in your request, if the taxpayer’s written protest is postmarked 11 days (or 31 days as the statutes now read) after the date of the statement of the increase in valuation, the protest would be con​sidered as untimely filed.

The law is clear that the taxpayer must file his or her objection within ten (or now thirty) days from the date of the statement showing an increase in prop​erty values.  That means the written objection must be postmarked no later than ten (or now thirty) days after the date of the statement, not ten (or now thirty) days after receiving the statement.  There exists, however, a provision in section 40-7-25 that allows a tax​payer to have his or her assessment reopened before the taxes become delinquent.  To restate, section 40-7-25, reads, in pertinent part, as fol​lows:

The taxpayer shall have the right any time before the taxes become delinquent to appear before the county board of equalization and have the assessment of his or her property reopened, if satisfactory proof is made that the taxpayer or his or her agent did not receive notice of the increase.
Ala. Code § 40-7-25 (Supp. 2007).

In summary, a taxpayer’s written protest must be postmarked within ten (or now thirty) calendar days of the date of the statement that his or her prop​erty’s valuation has been increased.  The taxpayer may, however, have his or her assessment reopened at any time before the taxes become delinquent if it is shown that the taxpayer failed to receive notice of the increase.

I hope this opinion answers your questions.  If this Office can be of fur​ther assistance, please contact W. Keith Maddox, Legal Division, Department of Revenue.
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TROY KING
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Chief, Opinions Division
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