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There is no limitation on the number of Class III dwellings located on the same parcel of property that may be claimed by a taxpayer.





Dear Mr. Weinrib:





	This opinion of the Attorney General is issued in response to your request.








QUESTION





	Can a homeowner who owns more than one dwelling on the same parcel of property claim the second dwelling as Class III owner-occupied residential property?








FACTS AND ANALYSIS





	In your request, you have listed several scenarios you encounter in your county in which homeowners own a second dwelling located on the same parcel of property.  The scenarios you describe all involve the sec�ond dwelling being used exclusively for the homeowners’ personal benefit and use.  Your examples include a homeowner having a detached garage with an overhead apartment or bedroom suite.  Also, a homeowner may have two manufactured homes on the same property with both homes being used exclusively for the homeowners’ personal benefit.  Lastly, you describe a scenario in which a homeowner in a residential neighborhood purchases a home next door to be used exclusively for his or her personal benefit.  





	You correctly cite A.G. Opinion No. 2005-179 as it would appear to answer your present question.  In that opinion, a recitation of Amendment 373 to the Constitution of Alabama, along with the implementing statute, was discussed.  It might prove helpful to repeat it here.





	Amendment 373 to the Constitution of Ala�bama, which amended section 217 of the Con�stitution of Alabama, provides in subsection (a) that Class III property is “[a]ll agricultural, forest, and single-family owner-occupied residential property, and historic buildings and sites.”  Ala. Const. art. XI, § 217 (amend. 373).  The implementing statute, codified at section 40-8-1 of the Code of Alabama, is entitled “Assess�ment rate,” and provides as follows:





(a)	On and after October 1, 1978, with respect to ad valorem taxes levied by the state, and, unless otherwise provided with respect to ad valorem taxes levied by the county, municipality, or other taxing authority other than the state, all taxable property shall be divided into the follow�ing classes and no other shall be assessed for ad valorem tax purposes at the follow�ing ratios of assessed value to the fair and reasonable market value of such property:





CLASS I.  All property of utilities used in the business of such utilities, 30 percent.





CLASS II.  All property not other�wise classified, 20 percent.





CLASS III.  All agricultural, forest and residential property, and historic buildings and sites, 10 percent.





CLASS IV.  All private passenger automobiles and motor trucks of the type commonly known as “pickups” or “pickup trucks” owned and operated by an individ�ual for personal or private use and not for hire, rent, or compensation, 15 percent.





. . .





Residential Property.  Only real prop�erty, used by the owner thereof exclusively as the owner’s single-family dwelling.





Ala. Code § 40-8-1 (2003) (emphasis added). 





Opinion to Honorable Glenn McGriff, Chilton County Tax Assessor, dated August 16, 2005, A.G. No. 2005-179.  This Office stated in the above-referenced opinion that a “vacation home” may qualify as Class III property and be taxed accordingly provided that it is used exclusively by the owner as a single-family dwelling.  The caveat is that the property may not be rented or leased by persons other than the owner.  





	The McGriff opinion went on to state that there is no statutory or constitutional restriction that would limit the number of individual prop�erties a taxpayer may claim as Class III property within the State of Alabama or within the same county.  The same applies to a second dwell�ing on the same parcel of property found under the examples you have given.  If the second dwelling is used exclusively by the homeowner as a single-family dwelling for his or her family, the property is then subject to Class III classification.  You state that second properties are often used by the homeowners as storage or for guest quarters.  Again, this would not defeat the properties’ Class III status.  Storage and guest accommodation are incidental to the valid use of residential property.  Again, so long as the second dwelling is used exclusively by the owner as a single-family dwelling, it is entitled to Class III classification.








CONCLUSION





	A homeowner that owns more than one dwelling on the same piece of property, or even a dwelling on a different parcel, may lawfully claim that the property is Class III property in accordance with section 40-8-1 of the Code of Alabama, so long as the property is used exclusively by the homeowner as a single-family dwelling for his or her family.





	I hope this opinion answers your question.  If this Office can be of further assistance, please contact Keith Maddox, Legal Division, Depart�ment of Revenue.





Sincerely,





TROY KING


Attorney General


By:











BRENDA F. SMITH


Chief, Opinions Division
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