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Honorable Lane W. Mann


Clerk, Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals


State of Alabama Judicial Building


300 Dexter Avenue


Post Office Box 301555


Montgomery, Alabama 36130-1555





Docket Fees – Refunds – Appeals





The plain meaning of Rule 35A(b) of the Alabama Rules of Appellate Procedure provides that the Court of Criminal Appeals shall not be required to refund any portion of the $100 docket fee for a nonindigent appellant where his or her appeal is subsequently dismissed without a decision on the merits of the appeal.





Under the plain language of Rule 35A(b) of the Alabama Rules of Appellate Procedure, the clerk of the Court of Criminal Appeals is only required to notify the appellant that his or her appeal will be dismissed with prejudice unless the docket fee is paid in a timely manner as prescribed in the notice.  Such requirement is based solely on the failure to pay the docket fee at the time of the filing of the notice of appeal and is not conditioned on the eventual outcome of the appeal.  Therefore, notice must be given in every case, even those cases that may ultimately be dismissed for another reason.





Dear Mr. Mann:





	This opinion of the Attorney General is issued in response to your request on behalf of the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals.








QUESTION 1





If a nonindigent appellant, or someone on his or her behalf, pays all or part of the $100 docket fee and the appeal is subsequently dismissed for any reason, must any portion of the docket fee be refunded?








FACTS, LAW, AND ANALYSIS





Rule 35A(b) of the Alabama Rules of Appellate Procedure, entitled “Docket Fees in Criminal Cases,” was amended effective March 1, 2004, and provides, in pertinent part, as follows: 





Unless an appellant proceeded before the trial court in forma pauperis and that status has not since been revoked, or unless the appellant is granted per�mission to proceed on appeal in forma pauperis either by the trial court or by the Court of Criminal Appeals, the appellant shall pay a $100 docket fee to prosecute his or her appeal in the Court of Criminal Appeals; provided, however, that that fee shall be waived in any appeal in which the State is the appellant.  The docket fee prescribed herein shall be in lieu of all other fees and costs prescribed by law for appeals to the Court of Criminal Appeals and shall be paid to the clerk of the trial court at the time the appellant files his or her notice of appeal.   The clerk of the trial court shall then remit the docket fee to the clerk of the Court of Criminal Appeals as provided in Rule 3(d)(2). After the docket fee has been paid, in whole or in part, the Court of Criminal Appeals shall not be required to refund any portion thereof because the appellant on whose behalf it was paid is subsequently granted in forma pauperis status or because the appellant’s appeal is subsequently dismissed without a decision on the merits. 





Ala. R. App. P. 35A(b) (emphasis added).





	The Court of Criminal Appeals has ruled that “[w]hen interpreting a rule of procedure, we must give the wording of the rule its plain meaning.”  Ingram v. State, [Ms. CR-02-0359, June 27, 2003],       So.2d      (Ala. Crim. App. 2003), citing J.W. v. State, 751 So. 2d 529, 531 (Ala. Crim. App. 1999); see also Nieto v. State, 842 So. 2d 748 (Ala. Crim. App. 2002).





	The plain meaning of Rule 35A(b) of the Alabama Rules of Appellate Pro�cedure is clear.  Where a nonindigent appellant, or someone on his or her behalf, pays, in whole or in part, the $100 docket fee and the appeal is subsequently dismissed, “the Court of Criminal Appeals shall not be required to refund any portion thereof. . . .”  Ala. R. App. P. 35A(b). 








CONCLUSION





	The plain meaning of Rule 35A(b) of the Alabama Rules of Appellate Pro�cedure provides that the Court of Criminal Appeals shall not be required to refund any portion of the $100 docket fee for a nonindigent appellant when his or her appeal is subsequently dismissed without a decision on the merits of the appeal.








QUESTION 2





	If a notice of appeal by a nonindigent is trans�ferred to this Court and (a) the docket fee has not been paid, and (b) it appears at the outset that the appeal will be dismissed as untimely or for any other reason, is this Court required to try to collect the docket fee before dismissing the appeal?  When considering this question, please note that the only sanction for non�payment of the docket fee is a dismissal of the appeal.








FACTS, LAW, AND ANALYSIS





	The second paragraph of Rule 35A(b) of the Alabama Rule of Appellate Procedure provides as follows:





	Upon receipt of the trial court clerk’s transmittal of an appellant’s notice of appeal, the clerk of the Court of Criminal Appeals shall docket the appeal regardless of whether the transmittal is accompanied by the docket fee prescribed herein.  After docketing an appeal in a case in which it appears that the docket fee is due, in whole or in part, the clerk of the Court of Criminal Appeals shall issue a deficiency notice advising the appellant that the appeal will be dismissed with prejudice unless the appellant has, within the time prescribed in said deficiency notice, either paid the docket fee in full or sought leave to proceed on appeal in forma pauperis as authorized in Rule 24(a).  If, within fourteen (14) days of the date of issuance of the deficiency notice, the appellant has not paid the docket fee in full or otherwise shown that the docket fee is inapplicable, the appeal shall be dismissed with prejudice and may not thereafter be reinstated except on motion for good cause shown made within 14 days from the date of the certificate of dismissal.





Id. (emphasis added).





	The plain language used in Rule 35A(b) of the Alabama Rules of Appellate Procedure requires the clerk of the Court of Criminal Appeals to issue a defi�ciency notice to the nonindigent appellant who has failed to pay the $100 docket fee after docketing the appeal.  If within 14 days of the date of issuance of the deficiency notice the appellant has not paid the docket fee in full, then the appeal shall be dismissed with prejudice and reinstated only on a motion for good cause shown made within 14 days from the date of the dismissal.  Note that the clerk of the Court of Criminal Appeals has the affirmative duty of issu�ing to the appellant a deficiency notice indicating that the appeal will be dis�missed with prejudice unless the docket fee is paid in full.  This duty applies in every case, even those cases that may ultimately be dismissed anyway.  C.f., Goldsmith v. State, 709 So. 2d 1352, 1353 (Ala. Crim. App. 1997) (“absent payment of the filing fee or approval of the in forma pauperis declaration, the circuit court does not acquire subject matter jurisdiction”).  Outside of issuing the deficiency notice to the appellant, nothing in Rule 35A(b) of the Alabama Rules of Appellate Procedure requires the clerk of the Court of Criminal Appeals to attempt to collect the docket fee before the appeal is dismissed with prejudice.








CONCLUSION





	Under the plain language of Rule 35A(b) of the Alabama Rules of Appel�late Procedure, the clerk of the Court of Criminal Appeals is only required to notify the appellant that his or her appeal will be dismissed with prejudice unless the docket fee is paid in a timely manner as prescribed in the notice.  Such requirement is based solely on the failure to pay the docket fee at the time of the filing of the notice of appeal and is not conditioned on the eventual out�come of the appeal.  Therefore, notice must be given in every case, even those cases that may ultimately be dismissed for another reason. 








QUESTION 3





	If a trial court determines that an appellant is only partially indigent (i.e., is indigent for purposes of a free transcript only), is the appellant required to pay the $100 docket fee prescribed in Rule 35A(b)?








FACTS, LAW, ANALYSIS, AND CONCLUSION





	Section 12-22-196 of the Code of Alabama, entitled “Entry of findings on minutes of court,” provides as follows:





	If the trial court judge is satisfied that the defen�dant or petitioner is without sufficient funds, and has no reasonable way to procure the same, necessary for the payment of court reporters’ fees or the clerks’ fees, he shall cause said finding to be entered on the minutes of the court.  If the trial judge finds to the contrary, he shall also cause said findings to be entered on the min�utes of the court, stating his reasons therefor.  If the trial judge finds the defendant or petitioner is unable to pay all of the court reporter’s fees but is able to pay a part, he shall cause to be entered upon the minutes of the court such reasons therefor and state the amount in money that the defendant or petitioner can reasonably pay.





Ala. Code § 12-22-196 (1995).





	Sections 12-22-195 and 12-22-196 of the Code of Alabama require the trial court judge to record the reasons why a defendant or petitioner has been given a complete denial of indigency, partial indigency, or has failed to meet his or her burden of proof.  Sellers v. State, 44 Ala. App. 305, 208 So. 2d 215 (1968).   When a judge finds on the record that an appellant is indigent with respect to the payment of transcript fees, but is otherwise nonindigent, reason dictates that the appellant would have to pay the $100 docket fee as required by Rule 35A(b) of the Alabama Rule of Appellate Procedure because the docket fee clearly is not a transcript fee.  If a judge, however, finds on the record that the appellant is indigent with respect to the payment of docket fees, but is otherwise nonindigent, reason dictates that the $100 docket fee as provided by Rule 35A(b) would not be paid by the appellant.





	I hope this opinion answers your questions.  If this Office can be of further assistance, please contact Eric Locke, Administrative Office of Courts.


						


Sincerely,





						TROY KING


						Attorney General


						By:











						Carol Jean Smith


						Chief, Opinions Division
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