�Honorable David Barber

District Attorney

Tenth Judicial District

801 Richard Arrington, Jr. Blvd. N.

Birmingham, Alabama  35203 



Mental Health Department – Crime Victims’ Rights Act – Jefferson County



The victim, as defined by section 15-23-60, et seq. (“Article 3. Crime Victim Rights”), upon written request to the custodial agency, which includes a “secure mental health facility,” is entitled to receive notice of an end-of-sentence release within 15 days prior to the end of the sentence of the prisoner.



If the defendant has been committed to the custody of the Commissioner of the Alabama State Department of Mental Health or to such other public facility under section 15-16-43 of the Code of Alabama, the victim’s rights to information include those set forth in sections 15-23-80 and 15-16-63, et seq.



Dear Mr. Barber:



	This opinion of the Attorney General is issued in response to your request.





QUESTION



Does a crime victim have the right to notice of the release of a criminal defendant who has been found not guilty by reason of insanity; and accordingly been committed to the custody of a mental health facility?





FACTS AND ANALYSIS



	Initially, it is important to define certain terms applicable to section 15-23-60, et seq., of the Code of Alabama and to your question.  Pursuant to section 15-23-60, et seq. (“Article 3. Crime Victim Rights”), “criminal offense” is defined as “[c]onduct that gives a law enforcement officer or prosecutor probable cause to believe that a felony involving physical injury, the threat of physical injury, or a sexual offense, or any offense involving spousal abuse or domestic violence has been committed.”  Ala. Code § 15-23-60 (1995). 



“Defendant” is defined as “[a] person or entity that is formally charged by complaint, indictment, information, or petition, of committing a criminal offense.”  Id.



“Prisoner” is defined as “[a] person who has been convicted or adjudicated of a criminal offense against a victim and who has been sentenced to the custody of the sheriff, the Alabama Department of Corrections, Department of Youth Services, juvenile detention facility, a municipal jail, or a secure mental health facility.”  Id.



Finally, “victim” is defined as “[a] person against whom the criminal offense has been committed, or if the person is killed or incapacitated, the spouse, sibling, parent, child, or guardian of the person, except if the person is in the custody for an offense or is the accused.”  Id.



In your request for an opinion, you have represented that the defendant had been charged with a “criminal offense,” and found not guilty by reason of mental disease or defect.  You have further represented that, upon this adjudication, the defendant was made a “prisoner” and placed in the custody of the Taylor Hardin Secure Medical Facility and that the “victim” has sought notice of the prisoner’s release from this secure facility.



Your opinion request asks whether the “victim” is entitled to receive notice of the prisoner’s release from the Taylor Hardin Secure Medical Facility.  Section 15-23-78 requires any agency having physical custody of the prisoner, if provided a request for notice, to mail to the victim the following information:  “(1) Notice of an end-of-sentence release within 15 days prior to the end of the sentence of the prisoner.”  Ala. Code § 15-23-78 (1995).  Section 15-23-80 further requires the following notice be given to the victim upon written request:



Upon written request of the victim, the Alabama Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation, or other facility with custody of the criminal defendant, shall send the victim a copy to the address stated in the request, of its release opinion which was provided to the appropriate court pursuant to section 15-16-63 et seq.



Ala. Code § 15-23-80(1995).



Section 15-16-60, et seq., specifically addresses the release of a defendant in a criminal case who has been placed in state custody after the court determines the defendant mentally ill and, as a consequence of such mental illness, poses a real and present threat of substantial harm to himself or to others.  For this law, however, to apply to the release of the defendant, the defendant must have been committed by the court under section 15-16-43.  Herrod v. State, 552 So. 2d 173 (Ala. Crim. App. 1989).  When the defendant has been committed under section 15-16-43, and accordingly, section 15-16-63 applies, and certain conditions must be met in releasing the defendant from custody: 



[T]he department or other facility shall give notice in writing to the court of that opinion [regarding the defendant’s release].  The department or other facility shall contemporaneously send copies of that notice to: the district attorney; the regional or community mental health facility which is or may be involved if the defendant is released; and the defendant, or his guardian or his attorney.



Ala. Code § 15-16-63 (1995).



If the defendant was not placed in the custody of the Alabama Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation, or other facility under section 15-16-43, section 15-23-80 would not be applicable.  Still, under section 15-23-78, the victim, upon written request, would be entitled to the notice of an end-of-sentence release within 15 days prior to the end of the sentence of the prisoner.



If the defendant was placed in the custody of the Alabama Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation, or other facility under section 15-16-43 of the Code of Alabama, sections 15-23-80 and 15-16-63, et seq., also would apply, and the victim, upon making a written request, would be entitled to receive a copy of the release opinion provided to the court by the Alabama Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation, or other facility with the custody of the criminal defendant. 





CONCLUSION



The victim, as defined by section 15-23-60, et seq. (“Article 3. Crime Victim Rights”), upon written request to the custodial agency, which includes a “secure mental health facility,” is entitled to receive notice of an end-of-sentence release within 15 days prior to the end of the sentence of the prisoner.



If the defendant has been committed to the custody of the Commissioner of the Alabama State Department of Mental Health or to such other public facility under section 15-16-43 of the Code of Alabama, the victim’s rights to information include those set forth in sections 15-23-80 and § 15-16-63, et seq.



I hope this opinion answers your question.  If this Office can be of further assistance, please contact David Sawyer, Administrative Office of Courts.



Sincerely, 



BILL PRYOR

Attorney General

By:







CAROL JEAN SMITH

Chief, Opinions Division
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