September 17, 2001


Honorable James H. Alexander

Director

Department of Public Safety

Post Office Box 1511

Montgomery, Alabama 36102-1511

Driver License – Public Safety, Department of – Suspensions

When the Director of the Department of Public Safety receives notice of a con​viction, a youthful offender adjudica​tion, or a finding of delinquency for a violation of section 32-5A-191(b) of the Code of Alabama, and the person has a prior conviction, adjudication, or find​ing of delinquency for a violation of section 32-5A-191(a) or -191(b), the Director must suspend the person’s driver’s license as provided by sections 32-5A-191(f) through -191(h), depend​ing upon the number of prior convic​tions, adjudications, or findings of delinquency.

When the Director of the Department of Public Safety receives a report of con​viction of section 32-5A-191(a), the Director must consider prior convic​tions under sections 32-5A-191(a) and ‑191(b) in determining the period of sus​pension, but may not consider prior youthful offender adjudications or findings of delinquency.

Dear Colonel Alexander:


This opinion of the Attorney General is issued in response to your request.

QUESTION 1

If a person is convicted under section 32-5A-191(b) of the Code of Alabama and a second conviction for violating section 32-5A-191(b) is received by the Department, what period of suspension should be imposed by the Department?

FACTS AND ANALYSIS


Section 32-5A-191(b) of the Code of Alabama provides as follows:

(b) A person who is under the age of 21 years shall not drive or be in actual physical control of any vehicle if there is .02 percentage or more by weight of alcohol in his or her blood.  The Department of Public Safety shall suspend or revoke the driver’s license of any person, including, but not limited to, a juvenile, child, or youthful offender, convicted or adjudicated of, or subjected to a finding of delinquency based on this subsection.  Notwithstanding the foregoing, upon the first violation of this subsection by a person whose blood alcohol level is between .02 and .08, the person’s driver’s license or driving privilege shall be suspended for a period of 30 days in lieu of any penalties provided in subsection (e) of this section and there shall be no disclosure, other than to courts and law enforcement agencies, by any entity or person of any information, documents, or records relating to the person’s arrest, conviction, or adjudication of or finding of delinquency based on this subsection.  All persons, except as other​wise provided in this subsection for a first offense, including, but not limited to, a juvenile, child, or youthful offender, convicted or adjudicated of, or sub​jected to a finding of delinquency based on this sub​section shall be fined pursuant to this section, notwith​standing any other law to the contrary, and the person shall also be required to attend and complete a DUI or substance abuse court referral program in accordance with subsection (i).

ALA. CODE § 32-5A-191(b) (Supp. 2000).


The Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals has held that section 32-5A-191(b) of the Code of Alabama reduces the minimal alcohol percentage for driving under the influence from 0.08 to 0.02 when the individual is under the age of twenty-one.  J.S.H. v. State, 710 So. 2d 507 (Ala. Crim. App. 1997).  The court stated that the legislative intent in enacting section 32-5A-191 is to pro​hibit individuals from driving while intoxicated and that the two subsections of section 32-5A-191 are merely alternative methods of proving the same offense.  Id. at 509.  Thus, a person violating subsection 32-5A-191(b) is subject to the same penalties as someone violating subsection 32-5A-191(a), except on a first offense when other penalties are provided by subsection 32-5A-191(b).


Under subsection (b), the Director of the Department of Public Safety is directed to suspend the person’s driver’s license not only upon conviction but also upon a youthful offender adjudication or upon a finding of delinquency.  Thus, upon a second or subsequent conviction, adjudication, or finding of delin​quency under subsection 32-5A-191(b), the Department of Public Safety must suspend the person’s license as provided in subsection (f), (g), or (h) depending upon the number of prior convictions, adjudications, or findings of delinquency under subsections 32-5A-191(a) or (b).

CONCLUSION


When the Director of the Department of Public Safety receives notice of a conviction, a youthful offender adjudication, or a finding of delinquency for a violation of section 32-5A-191(b) and the person has a prior conviction, adjudi​cation, or finding of delinquency for a violation of section 32-5A-191(a) or ‑191(b), the Director must suspend the person’s driver’s license as provided by sections 32-5A-191(f) through -191(h) depending upon the number of prior con​victions, adjudications, or findings of delinquency.

QUESTION 2

If a person is convicted under section 32-5A-191(b) and receives a subsequent conviction for vio​lating section 32-5A-191(a), what period of suspension should be imposed by the Department?

FACTS AND ANALYSIS


As discussed above, a conviction under section 32-5A-191(b) of the Code of Alabama is a conviction under section 32-5A-191.  Thus, if a conviction under subsection 32-5A-191(a) is received by the Department and the person has a prior conviction under subsection -191(b), that prior conviction must be con​sidered in determining the suspension period.


Unlike subsection 191(b), however, under subsection 191(a) a person’s license is to be suspended only upon conviction.  In suspending under subsec​tion -191(a), therefore, the Director may only consider prior convictions and not prior youthful offender adjudications or findings of delinquency, which are not considered convictions.

CONCLUSION


When the Director of the Department of Public Safety receives a report of conviction of section 32-5A-191(a), the Director must consider prior convictions under section 32-5A-191(a) and section 32-5A-191(b) in determining the period of suspension but may not consider prior youthful offender adjudications or findings of delinquency.


I hope this opinion answers your questions.  If this Office can be of fur​ther assistance, please contact Carol Jean Smith of my staff.

Sincerely,







BILL PRYOR







Attorney General







By:







CAROL JEAN SMITH







Chief, Opinions Division
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