November 16, 2000

Honorable Frank W. Gregory

Administrative Director of Courts

Administrative Office of Courts

300 Dexter Avenue

Montgomery, Alabama  36104-3741

Domestic Violence - Bail - Act No. 2000-597 - Administrative Office - Courts

The plain language of Act No. 2000-597 pro​vides that the maximum length of time a defendant may be held without being released on bond is 12 hours from the time of the arrest.  A defendant held for more than 12 hours without seeing a judicial officer must be released on bail set at the minimum amount provided in the bail schedule of the Supreme Court.  If a defendant is unable to post the minimum amount of bail as set forth in the bail schedule, then he or she must remain in jail until bail is posted or is sub​sequently released by a judge or magistrate in accordance with the Alabama Rules of Crimi​nal Procedure.

A personal appearance before a judge or magistrate is not mandated by the Act after the 12 hours have elapsed from the time of the defendant’s arrest.

The Act clearly does not authorize a judge or magistrate to require a defendant to appear within 12 hours of arrest and also hold him or her an additional 12 hours before releasing him or her on bail.

The Legislature must amend the Act or estab​lish other legislation to define the meaning of “domestic violence protection order registry” and which entity is responsible for its main​tenance.

An attempt or threat to commit domestic vio​lence is covered by Act No. 2000-597.

Since Alabama’s Constitution provides that bail is a matter of right for non-capital offenses, a judge or magistrate may not keep a defendant in custody awaiting trial more than 12 hours after arrest even where the defendant is determined to be a threat to oth​ers by being at large.

A defendant may not be released if he or she refuses to sign the release order promising to comply with the bail provisions.

If no appearance is provided before a judge or magistrate, no conditions of release can be set, other than the condition that the defen​dant post bail to the minimum amount in the Supreme Court’s bail schedule.

Since the Act authorizes only that the judge or magistrate determine conditions of release for the defendant, the defendant is not enti​tled to confront his or her accusers or cross-examine witnesses.

District and municipal court judges should use UJS Form CR-48, “Conditions of Release Domestic Violence Case,” to make findings on the record as required by the Act.

Arrests for domestic violence offenses exe​cuted by warrant are not subject to the release procedures of the Act.

Dear Mr. Gregory:

This opinion of the Attorney General is issued in response to your request on behalf of the Administrative Office of Courts.

QUESTIONS 1, 2, AND 3
Pursuant to section 15-13-190 of the Code of Ala​bama, a person arrested for domestic violence offenses may not be admitted to bail “until after an appearance before a judge or magistrate within 12 hours of the arrest, and if the person is not taken before a judge or magistrate within 12 hours he or she shall be released on bail.”  Under this provision, if 12 hours have elapsed after arrest, and the defendant has not been brought before a judge or magistrate, does section 15-13-190(a) of the Code of Ala​bama require the defendant’s immediate release?   Addi​tionally, can a judge or magistrate have the defendant appear within 12 hours of arrest and then hold the defendant an additional 12 hours before releasing him or her on bail? 

What is the maximum length of time which a defen​dant charged with an applicable domestic violence offense can be held without being released on bond pursuant to Act No. 2000-597, the Bail Reform Act, and Rule 7 of the Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure?

Is a personal appearance before a judge or magis​trate mandatory in all instances in which a defendant is charged and arrested for a domestic violence offense?  

FACTS AND ANALYSIS
During the 2000 Regular Session the Legislature passed Act No. 2000-597 regarding the granting of bail to persons arrested on charges of domestic violence.  Act No. 2000-597, effective August 1, 2000, and now codified at section 15-13-190 of the Code of Alabama, provides that a person who is arrested without a warrant on a domestic violence charge shall be brought before a judicial officer within 12 hours of his or her arrest or shall be released on bail after 12 hours.

Section 15-13-190(a) of the Code provides:

A person arrested for an offense involving domestic violence as defined in subdivisions (1) through (4) of sub​section (b) of Section 15-10-3 [of the Code of Alabama, who] strikes, shoves, kicks or otherwise touches a person or subject (sic) him or her to physical contact or charged with a violation of a protection order, may not be admit​ted to bail until after an appearance before a judge or magistrate within 12 hours of the arrest, and if the per​son is not taken before a judge or magistrate within 12 hours he or she shall be released on bail.  Prior to the release of the person, the judge or magistrate shall review the facts of the arrest to determine whether the person is a threat to the alleged victim, is a threat to public safety, and is reasonably likely to appear in court . . . .

ALA. CODE § 15-13-190(a) (Supp. 2000) (emphasis added).

In A.G. Opinion No. 2000-211, to Trussville Municipal Judge Carl E. Cham​blee, dated August 14, 2000, this Office advised:

A defendant charged with a non-capital crime is entitled to bail as a matter of right.   ALA. CONST.  art. I, §16. The amount of bail is discretionary, to be set by the court.  Ala. R. Crim. P. R. 7.2.  See also Ex parte Colbert, 717 So. 2d  868, 871 (Ala. Crim. App. 1998).  In deter​mining the amount of bail, the court may use its own bail schedule or the bail schedule of Rule 7.2(b), or it may use the “rough rule of thumb” of $1000 per year based on the maximum jail term which can be imposed.  Id. at 871 

. . . .

Assuming that a person was held for more than 12 hours and has not seen a judge or magistrate, that person must be released from jail . . . .  The defendant may not be released on his or her signature only because release on one’s own signature requires a hearing before a judicial officer.  Act No. 2000-597 is unclear on the amount of bail to require, but generally statutes are read together to form a coherent system.  Section 15-13-105 is the only legislative pronouncement on release on bail when the arrest is made without a warrant.  This section provides guidance on the enforcement and effect of the 12-hour holding period of the Act.  After the 12 hours have expired, the defendant shall be released on bail, which shall be the minimum amount set by the bail schedule of the Supreme Court for this type of offense.  Of course, if the defendant cannot produce the amount of bail by surety or other means, then he or she must remain in jail, until he or she sees a judge or magistrate or produces the amount of bail.   

A.G. Opinion No. 2000-211 at 4-5.

Pursuant to Rule 4.3 of the Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure, a probable cause determination must be made by a judge or magistrate within 48 hours of arrest for defendants detained pursuant to a warrantless arrest; failing which, the defendant must be released upon the execution of an appearance bond in the amount of the minimum bond provided by Rule 7.2 of the Alabama Rules of Criminal Pro​cedure.  The defendant does not have to be brought before a judge or magistrate for a probable cause determination; however, Rule 4.3 and Rule 4.4 of the Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure do require that an initial appearance hearing be held within 72 hours of arrest for defendants still in custody, and the defendant must appear before a magistrate or judge at that time.  See A.G. Opinion No. 2000-020, to District Judge Langford Floyd, dated November 2, 1999.

The Bail Reform Act that was subsequently passed by the Legislature pro​vides in section 15-13-105 that, if a judicial officer has not issued an order of bail within 24 hours of the defendant’s arrest, the bail is “set by operation of law” in the minimum amount established by the Supreme Court’s bail schedule (Rule 7 of the Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure), except the minimum amounts of bail for misdemeanors and violations “shall be $300 for each offense charged.”  ALA. CODE § 15-13-105 (1995).  Section 15-13-105 refers to setting bail within 24 hours of arrest, but does not necessarily require that the defendant be released within 24 hours of arrest.

Section 15-13-106 of the Code, entitled “Illegal Commitment,” provides that except for capital cases “[n]o person or defendant shall remain in jail anywhere in this state for more than 24 hours for any felony or misdemeanor case without an order of bail . . . .”  ALA. CODE § 15-13-106 (1995).  Until passage of Act No. 2000‑597, however, it appeared that defendants charged with any bailable offense could be held up to a maximum of 48 hours before a judge or magistrate conducted a probable cause hearing, and for defendants still in custody, an initial appearance hearing had to be conducted within 72 hours of arrest.  The plain language of Act No. 2000-597, however, expressly reduces this time for applicable domestic vio​lence offenders.  

In determining the meaning of a statute, courts look to the plain meaning of the words as written by the Legislature.  DeKalb County LP Gas Co., Inc., v. Sub​urban Gas, Inc., 729 So. 2d 270 (Ala. 1998).  “The fundamental rule of statutory construction is to ascertain and give effect to the intent of the legislature in enact​ing the statute.  Words used in a statute must be given their natural, plain, ordi​nary, and commonly understood meaning, and where plain language is used a court is bound to interpret that language to mean exactly what it says.”  IMED Corp. v. Systems Engineering Assocs. Corp., 602 So. 2d 344 (Ala. 1992).  As noted above, section 15-13-190(a) of the Code provides that a defendant “may not be admitted to bail until after an appearance before a judge or magistrate within 12 hours of the arrest, and if the person is not taken before a judge or magistrate within 12 hours he or she shall be released on bail.” ALA. CODE § 15-13-190(a) (Supp. 2000) (emphasis added).  The word “within” is defined as “inside the fixed limits of; not beyond.”  The American Heritage Dictionary, Second College Edition 1387 (1985).   Therefore, under this provision, a person arrested without a warrant for a domes​tic violence offense could be released well before 12 hours have passed from the time he or she was arrested, provided he or she appears before a judge or magis​trate.  Conversely, no appearance before a judge or magistrate is mandated by the Act after 12 hours have elapsed from the time of the defendant’s arrest.

Pursuant to the express language of section 15-13-190(a) of the Code, when 12 hours have passed after arrest and the defendant has not been brought before a judge or magistrate, the defendant shall be released on bail.  Of course, release on bail is contingent on meeting the requirements of bail, i.e., adequate securities, etc.  Otherwise, the defendant will stay in jail until he or she is capable of posting bail or until a judge or magistrate releases him or her in accordance with the Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure.  Note, however, that no provision in the Act author​izes a judge or magistrate to conduct both a hearing within 12 hours of the defen​dant’s arrest and then hold the defendant an additional 12 hours, and only a disin​genuous interpretation of the Act could support such a practice.  Had the Legislature intended this practice, it would have provided for this procedure.

CONCLUSION
The plain language of the Act provides that the maximum length of time a defendant may be held without being released on bond is 12 hours from the time of the arrest.  A defendant held for more than 12 hours without seeing a judicial offi​cer must be released on bail set by court order, local schedule, or in the amount appearing on the warrant of arrest. If a defendant is unable to post the minimum amount of bail as set forth in the bail schedule, then he or she must remain in jail until bail is posted or is subsequently released by a judge or magistrate in accor​dance with the Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure.

A personal appearance before a judge or magistrate is not mandated by the Act after the 12 hours have elapsed from the time of the defendant’s arrest.  

The Act clearly does not authorize a judge or magistrate to require a defen​dant to appear within 12 hours of arrest and also hold him or her an additional 12 hours before releasing him or her on bail.

QUESTION 4
What is the “domestic violence protection order registry,” and who is responsible for its maintenance?

FACTS AND ANALYSIS
Section 15-13-190(c) of the Code provides that “[i]f conditions of release are imposed, the judge or magistrate shall issue a written order for conditional release 

. . . [and] place information pertaining to the order in the domestic violence pro​tection order registry.”  ALA. CODE § 15-13-190(c) (Supp. 2000).

Unfortunately, the Act fails to define “domestic violence protection order registry” and does not provide a specific entity responsible for its maintenance.  It would appear that the primary purpose of a “domestic violence protection order registry” is to establish a database for use by courts and law enforcement to ensure the recordation and recognition of protection orders issued in Alabama, as well as by courts of other jurisdictions, which is vital to enforcement.  However, until the Legislature provides subsequent legislation clarifying the legal specifications of such registry, any guidance given by this Office would be purely conjectural.

CONCLUSION

The Legislature must amend the Act or establish other legislation to define the meaning of “domestic violence protection order registry” and which entity is responsible for its maintenance.

QUESTION 5
Does the Act’s bail provision apply only to offenses involving domestic violence where physical contact has occurred pursuant to section 1(a), or also to an “attempt or threat thereof,” as provided in line 6 of the synopsis of the Act?   

FACTS AND ANALYSIS

Citing section 15-10-3(b)(4) of the Code, which defines “domestic violence” as “[a]ny incident resulting in the abuse, assault, harassment, or the attempt or threats thereof, between family, household, or dating or engagement relationship members” [ALA. CODE § 15-10-3(b)(4) (Supp. 2000) (emphasis added)], and the express language of Act No. 2000-597, which provides that its provisions apply to persons arrested for a domestic violence offense as defined in section 15-10-3(b)(4) of the Code of Alabama, this Office has advised:

Where a statute adopts all or part of another statute by specific and descriptive reference, the effect is the same as if the portion incorporated had been directly written into the statute.  Hassett v. Welch, 303 U.S. 303 (1938).  Section 15-10-3 defines “domestic violence” to include the attempt to commit any acts of domestic vio​lence as an offense where a police officer has the power to arrest the suspect without a warrant.  ALA. CODE § 15-10-3 (1995).  Section 1(a) of Act No. 2000-597 provides that its bail provisions will apply when a person is arrested for an offense involving domestic violence as defined by either Act No. 2000-597 or section 15-10-3(b)(1) through (4).  Because attempt is covered by the plain language of section 15-10-3, and this section is incorporated by reference into Act No. 2000-597, it is clear that an attempt to commit any of the acts listed in section 1(a) of Act No. 2000-597 will subject the defen​dant to the provisions of the Act. 

A.G. Opinion No. 2000-211 at 3.

CONCLUSION
An attempt or threat to commit domestic violence is covered by Act No. 2000-597.

QUESTIONS 6, 7, 8, and 9
If the judge or magistrate determines that the defen​dant poses a real and present threat to others by being at large, may the defendant be held in jail after the 12-hour period? 

If the defendant refuses to sign his or her conditions of release but wishes to post bail, may the judge or mag​istrate hold the defendant in jail after the 12-hour period?

If no appearance before a judge or magistrate is provided, can conditions of release, mandatory or other​wise, be set?   If, at the end of the 12-hour period, the judge or magistrate sets a bail amount and/or imposes conditions of release on the defendant, is the judge or magistrate required to make specific findings and issue a written order?

FACTS AND ANALYSIS
Pursuant to Rule 7.2(a) of the Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure, a judge or magistrate may release a defendant on an appearance bond before conviction “unless the court or magistrate determines that such a release will not reasonably assure the defendant’s appearance as required, or that the defendant’s being at large will pose a real and present danger to others or the public at large.  If such a determination is made, the court may impose the least onerous condition or con​ditions contained in Rule 7.3(b) of the Ala. R. Crim. P., that will reasona​bly assure the defendant’s appearance . . . .”  Ala. R. Crim. P. 7.3(b).  Pursuant to section 15-13-190(a) of the Code, “[p]rior to the release of the person, the judge or magistrate shall review the facts of the arrest to determine whether the person is a threat to the alleged victim, is a threat to public safety, and is reasonably likely to appear in court.” ALA. CODE § 15-13-190(a) (Supp. 2000).  Additionally, section 15-13-190(b) provides that the judge or magistrate “shall make findings on the rec​ord concerning those determinations and may impose conditions of release or bail on the person to protect the alleged victim of domestic violence or the person pro​tected by a protection order, and to ensure the appearance of the person at a subse​quent court proceeding.”  ALA. CODE § 15-13-190(b) (Supp. 2000).

Although under the Act and Rules of Criminal Procedure a judge or magis​trate may impose on a defendant various conditions of release prior to conviction, because bail is a matter of right for anyone charged with a noncapital offense, no authority exists authorizing a court, before conviction, to deny a person bail or oth​erwise hold him or her in custody even when it determines that the defendant is a real and present danger to the public by being at large.  A judge or magistrate may impose reasonable conditions of release that will ensure the defendant’s appearance at a subsequent court proceeding and which the court determines will protect the alleged victim or the general public, but may not refuse the defendant’s opportunity to make bail and obtain release pending trial. The language employed in the Act reinforces this constitutional and statutorily recognized right.  ALA. CONST. art. 1, §16; ALA. CODE § 15-13-108 (1995).  Because the Code provides, however, that a defendant “may not be admitted to bail until after an appearance before a judge or magistrate within 12 hours of the arrest,” the defendant should not be held more than 12 hours from the time of arrest. ALA. CODE § 15-13-190(a) (Supp. 2000).  Of course, if the defendant does not have the resources to post bail, he or she must stay in jail until a bail is posted or until a judge or magistrate releases him or her in accordance with the Rules of Criminal Procedure.

Furthermore, section 15-13-102 of the Code defines “bail” as the “release of a person who has been arrested and is being held in the custody of the State of Ala​bama or one of its subdivisions for the commission of a criminal offense.  The pri​mary purpose of bail is to procure the release of a person charged with an offense upon obtaining assurance, with or without surety, of the defendant’s future appearance in court.” ALA. CODE § 15-13-102 (1995) (emphasis added).  Rule 7.3(b) of the Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure provides that an order of release may include that a defendant execute an appearance bond as a condition reasonably necessary to secure a defendant’s appearance.  Pursuant to Form CR-11, “Appearance Bond,” a Unified Judicial System (UJS) form, the defendant’s signa​ture is required.  Likewise, Form CR-48, “Conditions of Release Domestic Vio​lence Case,” provides for the defendant’s signature.  Form CR-48, specifically tai​lored for compliance with Act Nos. 2000-597 and Act 2000-266 (creating the criminal offenses of Domestic Violence in the 1st , 2nd, and 3rd degrees), conditions the defendant’s release, among other things, on providing the execution of a secured appearance bond, and above the line where the defendant’s signature is required, contains the following language: “The above Conditions of Release have been read and explained to me, and I have received a copy of this Order, and under​stand same and agree to abide by them.” UJS Form CR-48, “Conditions of Release Domestic Violence Case” (emphasis added).  Therefore, the defendant may not be released without his or her signature on this order and must stay in jail until the defendant signs the order or a judge or magistrate releases him or her in accordance with the Rules of Criminal Procedure.

In A.G. Opinion No. 2000-211, in responding to the question of whether a judge or magistrate must follow the procedures provided in subsections (b) and (c) of section 15-13-190 of the Code, where the defendant is released from jail because a judge or magistrate failed to conduct a hearing within 12 hours of arrest, this Office advised: 

When a person is released from jail by operation of statute, on bail based on a bail schedule, the prosecutor may “file a motion with the court to reconsider the bond amount and the conditions of release.”  Ala. R. Crim. P. R. 4.3(a)(1)(iv).  Following such motion, the court is bound to follow the procedures of Rule 7.5 in adjusting or modifying the terms of bail.  Ala. R. Crim. P. R. 7.5.  At the time of reconsideration of bail, the judge is bound to follow the procedures set forth in the Act and impose, if necessary, the terms and conditions of sections (b) and (c) of the Act.

A.G. Opinion No. 2000-211 at 5-6 (emphasis added).

Where no appearance before a judge or magistrate is provided, no conditions of release, other than the condition that the defendant post bail pursuant to the minimum amount in the Supreme Court’s bail schedule, is to be imposed.  Since the Act requires a judge or magistrate to review the facts of each arrest and make spe​cific findings on the record in determining whether to impose conditions on a defendant’s release, but only for those defendants who appear before them “within 12 hours of arrest,” when 12 hours have expired from the time of the defendant’s arrest, no additional conditions, mandatory or otherwise, written or unwritten, are to be imposed by a judge or magistrate unless the prosecutor files a motion for reconsideration of bail pursuant to Rule 7.5 of the Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure.

CONCLUSION
Since Alabama’s Constitution provides that bail is a matter of right for non​capital offenses, a judge or magistrate may not keep a defendant in custody await​ing trial more than 12 hours after arrest even where the defendant is determined to be a threat to others by being at large.

A defendant may not be released where he or she refuses to sign the release order promising to comply with the bail provisions.

If no appearance is provided before a judge or magistrate, no conditions of release can be set, other than the condition that the defendant post bail to the minimum amount in the Supreme Court’s bail schedule.

Where a defendant does not have a hearing within 12 hours of arrest, the judge or magistrate is not required to make specific findings of fact and issue a written order. 

QUESTIONS 10 AND 11
How specifically are district and municipal court judges and magistrates to “make findings on the record” as required by section (b) of the Act? 

Section (a) provides that “[p]rior to release of the person, the judge or magistrate shall review the facts of the arrest to determine whether the person is a threat to the alleged victim, is a threat to public safety, and is rea​sonably likely to appear in court.”  What type of hearing is required by the Act?   Does the defendant have the right to confront his accusers, present and cross-examine wit​nesses?

FACTS AND ANALYSIS
Pursuant to section 15-13-190(a) of the Code, “[p]rior to the release of the person, the judge or magistrate shall review the facts of the arrest to determine whether the person is a threat to the alleged victim, is a threat to public safety, and is reasonably likely to appear in court . . . .” ALA. CODE § 15-13-190(a) (Supp. 2000) (emphasis added).  Additionally, section 15-13-190(b) provides that the judge or magistrate “shall make findings on the record concerning those deter​minations and may impose conditions of release or bail on the person to protect the alleged victim of domestic violence or the person protected by a protection order, and to ensure the appearance of the person at a subsequent court proceeding . . . .”  ALA. CODE § 15-13-190(b) (Supp. 2000) (emphasis added).  Clearly, the hearing contemplated by the Act should be characterized as a conditional release hearing prior to the defendant being formally arraigned on the charges.  The remainder of section 15-13-190(b) and section 15-13-190(c) provide:

The conditions may include, but need not be limited to, enjoining the person from threatening to commit or com​mitting acts of domestic violence against the alleged vic​tim; prohibiting the person from telephoning, contacting, or otherwise communicating with the alleged victim with the intent to harass, either directly or indirectly; ordering the person to stay away from the home of the alleged vic​tim, when the person and alleged victim are not residents of the same home, and ordering the person to stay away from any other location where the alleged victim is likely to be; prohibiting the person from possessing a firearm or other weapon specified by the court, except when such weapon is necessary for employment as a peace officer or military personnel; and issuing any other order or modifi​cation of orders above required to protect the safety of the alleged victim or to ensure the appearance of the person in court.

(c)  If conditions of release are imposed, the judge or magistrate shall issue a written order for conditional release, immediately distribute a copy of the order to the law enforcement agency having custody of the arrested or charged person, place information pertaining to the order in the domestic violence protection order registry, and provide the law enforcement agency with any available information concerning the location of the alleged victim in a manner that protects the safety of the victim.

ALA. CODE § 15-13-190 (Supp. 2000).

The Alabama Supreme Court held in Strickland v. State, 280 Ala. 31, 189 So. 2d 771 (1965) that an accused has a right to counsel beginning with arraignment and at every stage of the proceeding, including the guilty plea, unless a competent, intelligent, and voluntary waiver is made.  The Alabama Supreme Court has also ruled that the right of a defendant to have counsel present at arraignment is a juris​dictional prerequisite to a conviction.  Ex parte State of Alabama (Re: Nettie Mae Weakly v. State), 721 So. 2d 235 (Ala. 1998).  The purpose of arraignment is to formally charge a defendant with an offense and to allow a plea.  O’Neal v. State, 494 So. 2d 801 (Ala. Crim. App. 1986).  Arraignment procedures are established under Rule 14 of the Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure.  Rule 14.2 provides that a court, at arraignment, must determine, among other things, whether the defendant is represented by counsel, whether the defendant or his or her attorney have received a copy of the charges against the defendant, and to advise the defen​dant of any dates set for further proceedings.  At arraignment, the court may hear and decide motions “concerning the conditions of release under Rule 7.” Ala. R. Crim. P. 14.2(b). Pursuant to the Act, the purpose of the release procedures is clearly specified.  The judge or magistrate is to “impose conditions of release or bail on the person to protect the alleged victim of domestic violence or the person protected by a protection order, and to ensure the appearance of the person at a subsequent court proceeding.”  ALA. CODE § 15-13-190(b) (Supp. 2000).  The Act in no way contemplates arraignment; the judge or magistrate is only to review the facts of the arrest to determine conditions of the defendant’s release.  Therefore, when the judge or magistrate is determining conditions of release pursuant to the Act, the defendant is not entitled to confront accusers or cross-examine witnesses because no formal charges are being brought against the defendant, nor is he or she entitled to submit a plea at this point.

Form CR-48, entitled “Conditions of Release Domestic Violence Case,” was revised by the Unified Judicial System (UJS) in July 2000 to provide judges and magistrates a uniform mechanism for compliance with the provisions of the Act and was distributed to them by the Administrative Office of Courts (AOC) that month.  The procedures specified above in subsections (b) and (c) of the Act are provided on this form, with the form functioning as an official order of the court which rec​ords the defendant’s release conditions.  Form CR-48 authorizes the judge or mag​istrate to establish the amount of bond and provides for various mandatory condi​tions and discretionary conditions of release to be imposed against the defendant.  Both the judge/magistrate and defendant must sign and date the form, with the original order remaining with the court, with copies going to the complainant, the defendant, and the law enforcement agency having custody of the defendant.

CONCLUSION
Since the Act authorizes only that the judge or magistrate determine condi​tions of release for the defendant, the defendant is not entitled to confront his or her accusers or cross-examine witnesses.

District and municipal court judges are to use UJS Form CR-48, “Conditions of Release Domestic Violence Case,” to make findings on the record as required by the Act. 


QUESTION 12
The Act’s provisions apply to persons “arrested for an offense involving domestic violence, as defined in sub​divisions (1) through (4) of subsection (b) of section 15-10-3 of the Code of Alabama, [who] strikes, shoves, kicks or otherwise touches a person or subject (sic) him or her to physical contact or charged with a violation of a pro​tection order.”  

Since section 15-10-3 applies exclusively to domes​tic violence arrests without warrants, are domestic vio​lence arrests executed by a warrant not subject to the Act’s provisions?

FACTS AND ANALYSIS
“Under the principle of expressio unis est exclusio alterius, a rule of statu​tory construction, the express inclusion of requirements in the law implies an intention to exclude other requirements not so included.”  Jefferson County v. Ala​bama Criminal Justice Information Center Comm’n, 620 So. 2d 651, 658 (Ala. 1993).  Therefore, since the Act expressly provides that its provisions apply only to domestic violence offenses as defined in section15-10-3(b)(1 through 4), and that section exclusively governs arrests without warrants, domestic violence arrests executed by warrant are not subject to the Act’s provisions.  Note also that section 15-13-104 of the Code provides that an order of bail as determined by a judicial officer is to be affixed to a warrant “at the time of their issuance for which the defendant is arrested and taken into custody . . . .”  ALA. CODE § 15-13-104 (1995).  Since bail is already determined at the time the warrant is executed, it would appear that the procedures provided by this Act, in most instances, would not be necessary. 

CONCLUSION
Arrests for domestic violence offenses executed by warrant are not subject to the release procedures of the Act.


I hope this opinion answers your questions.  If this Office can be of further assistance, please contact Carol Jean Smith of my staff.

Sincerely,

BILL PRYOR

Attorney General

By:

CAROL JEAN SMITH

Chief, Opinions Division
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