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Honorable Frank W. Gregory

Administrative Director

Administrative Office of Courts

300 Dexter Avenue

Montgomery, Alabama 36104-3741

Driving Under Influence – Court Referral Programs – Administrative Office of Courts ‑‑ Administrative Office - Courts

All persons convicted of DUI under section 32-5A-191 of the Code of Alabama must be sen​tenced, at a minimum, to attend and complete a DUI or substance abuse court referral program.

Dear Mr. Gregory:


This opinion of the Attorney General is issued in response to your request on behalf of the Administrative Office of Courts.

QUESTION

Does section 32-5A-191(b) of the Code, as amended by Act No. 2000-677, exclude persons convicted or adjudicated of violating this section for the first time from attending and completing a DUI or substance abuse court referral program?

FACTS AND ANALYSIS

The Legislature recently amended section 32-5A-191 of the Code of Alabama to increase the penalties for second or subsequent DUI convic​tions.   The Legislature also amended subsection (b), which addresses convictions of persons less than 21 years of age for DUI, as follows:


(b) A person who is under the age of 21 years shall not drive or be in actual physical control of any vehicle if there is .02 percentage or more by weight of alcohol in his or her blood. The Department of Public Safety shall suspend or revoke the driver's license of any person, including, but not limited to, a juvenile, child, or youthful offender, convicted or adjudicated of, or subjected to a finding of delinquency based on this subsection. Notwithstanding the foregoing, upon the first violation of this subsection by a person whose blood alcohol level is between .02 and .08, the person's driver's license or driving privilege shall be suspended for a period of 30 days in lieu of any penalties provided in sub​section (e) of this section and there shall be no disclosure, other than to courts and law enforce​ment agencies, by any entity or person of any information, documents, or records relating to the person's arrest, conviction, or adjudication of or finding of delinquency based on this sub​section.

All persons, except as otherwise provided in this subsection for a first offense, including, but not limited to, a juvenile, child, or youthful offender, convicted or adjudicated of, or sub​jected to a finding of delinquency based on this subsection shall be fined pursuant to this section, notwithstanding any other law to the contrary and the person shall also be required to attend and complete a DUI or substance abuse court referral program in accordance with subsection (i).

2000 Ala. Acts No. 2000-677, § 1(b) (amendment highlighted).


Subsection (i) states:

In addition to the penalties provided herein, any person convicted of violating this section shall be referred to the court referral officer for evaluation and referral to appropriate community resources.  The defendant shall, at a minimum, be required to complete a DUI or sub​stance abuse court referral program approved by the Administrative Office of Courts and operated in accordance with provisions of the Mandatory Treatment Act of 1990 . . . .  The Department of Public Safety shall not reissue a driver’s license to a person convicted under this section without receiving proof that the defendant has success​fully completed the required program.

2000 Ala. Acts No. 2000-677, § 1(i) (emphasis added).

Subsection (b) of Act No. 2000-677 applies only to persons who are under 21 years of age.   This subsection provides for certain reduced pen​alties for a person (under 21) whose blood alcohol level is between .02 and .08 and is convicted for the first time.   Under subsection (b), first-time offenders who meet the requirements of the subsection are excluded only from the penalties of subsection (e) relating to first-time offenders, and not from the penalties of subsection (i).  Subsection (i) requires all person convicted under section 32-5A-191 of the Code to be sentenced to a substance abuse court referral program.  Therefore, all persons con​victed of DUI, whether it is their first offense or not, are to be sentenced to the program.

CONCLUSION


All persons convicted of DUI under section 32-5A-191 of the Code of Alabama must be sentenced, at a minimum, to attend and complete a DUI or substance abuse court referral program.   


I hope this opinion answers your question.  If this Office can be of further assistance, please contact Troy King of my staff.

Sincerely,

BILL PRYOR

Attorney General

By:

CAROL JEAN SMITH

Chief, Opinions Division
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