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Honorable Larry C. Thomas

Director

Ozark/Dale County E911 Board

Post Office Box 988

Ozark, Alabama 36361

Emergency Management Communications – Districts - Service Charges

Emergency telephone service charge may be levied at a rate not to exceed 5% of the maximum tariff charged by any supplier in the district.  Once authorized, the rate may be set by the Board to any rate permitted by section 11-98-5(a)(1) as amended.

Dear Mr. Thomas:


This opinion of the Attorney General is issued in response to your request on behalf of the Ozark/Dale County E911 Board.

QUESTIONS


1.  May the Ozark/Dale County E911 Board increase the original levy of emergency tele​phone service charge from a rate of 5% of the basic tariff rate to 5% of the premium calling plan tariff rate?


2.  If the answer to the first question is affirmative, may the increase be effected by resolution of the Board without further notice to and action by the voters in the Board’s district or the governing bodies of the jurisdictions that authorized the E911 Board?

LAW, ANALYSIS, AND CONCLUSION


Section 11-98-5(a) of the Code of Alabama provides:


The board of commissioners of the district may, when so authorized by a vote of a majority of the persons voting within the district, in accordance with law, levy an emergency tele​phone service charge in an amount not to exceed five percent of the maximum tariff rate charged by any service supplier in the district, except that in counties with populations of less than 25,000 as determined by the most recent popula​tion census, the board of commissioners may, when so authorized by a vote of a majority of the persons voting within the district, in accordance with law, levy an emergency telephone service charge in an amount not to exceed two dollars ($2).  The governing body of the municipality or county may, upon its own initiative, call the spe​cial election.  Any service charge shall have uni​form application and shall be imposed throughout the entire district, to the greatest extent possible, in conformity with availability of such service in any area of the district.  The district shall have service on line no later than 36 months from the start of collections or suspend all collections until the district provides the service and shall refund all collections made during this 36-month period of time.


On and after January 1, 1992, the board of commissioners, once so authorized by a vote of a majority of the persons voting in the district to levy an emergency telephone service charge, may implement any rate of the emergency tele​phone service charge permitted under this sec​tion, as it may be amended from time to time, without further authorization.

ALA. CODE § 11-98-5(a)(1) and (2) (1994) (emphasis added).


In section 2 of Act No. 96-47, 1st Ex. Sess., the Legislature said:


It was the intent of the Legislature in amending section 11-98-5 in Act 92-562, 1992 Regular Session, Act 92-706, 1992 Second Spe​cial Session, and Act 95-667, 1995 Regular Ses​sion, to authorize the board of commissioners of a communication district organized pursuant to Chapter 98, Title 11, Code of Alabama 1975, which has once been authorized by a vote of a majority of the persons voting within the district to levy an emergency telephone service charge, thereafter to change the rate of the charge from the original rate to any rate permitted by these amendments to Section 11-98-5, Code of Ala​bama 1975, without further authorization.  The purpose of amending Section 11-98-5, Code of Alabama 1975, is to clarify and implement the actual purpose and meaning of the Legislature when it enacted the amendments to Section 11-98-5 to provide for a uniform service charge not to exceed five percent of the maximum tariff in the district.

1996 Ala. Acts No. 96-47, 62.


In view of the foregoing, your first question is answered yes; the E911 Board may increase its original levy to “five percent of the maxi​mum tariff rate charged by any service supplier in the district.”  ALA. CODE § 11-98-5(a)(1) (1994).  As to whether the premium calling plan is “the maximum tariff rate charged . . . in the district,” this is a factual question to be determined by the Board after proper inquiry.


Your second question is also answered by the language of section 2 of Act No. 96-47, quoted above.  Once a charge is authorized, it may be set by the Board at “. . . any rate permitted” by section 11-98-5(a)(1), as amended.


I hope this opinion answers your questions.  If this Office can be of further assistance, please contact Philip C. Davis of my staff.

Sincerely,

BILL PRYOR

Attorney General

By:

CAROL JEAN SMITH

Chief, Opinions Division

BP/PCD/jaf

13840v1/9637

