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Honorable J. Langford Floyd

District Judge

Post Office Box 1452

Bay Minette, Alabama 36507

Warrants - Baldwin County

Although section 15-26-1 of the Code expressly authorizes the use of an audio-video communication device for initial appearance hear​ings so that defendants will not be required to be brought physically before the judge, no law currently authorizes the use of a speakerphone for any pre-trial hearing.

When a defendant is arrested for failure to appear or failure to pay, Rule 4.3(b)(3), ARCrP, requires that a judge or magistrate conduct an initial appearance hearing within 72 hours of arrest if the defendant has not obtained his or her release from jail.

Dear Judge Floyd:


This opinion of the Attorney General is issued in response to your request.

QUESTION 1


In order for a defendant to appear before a magistrate within the 72-hour time limit, and if a defendant is in an open courtroom, can the judge handle the matter over a speakerphone if the judge is out of town?

FACTS AND ANALYSIS


Pursuant to Rule 4.3(a)(1)(iii), Alabama Rules of Criminal Proce​dure (ARCrP), which is based on the United States Supreme Court’s holding in Riverside v. McLaughlin, 500 U.S. 14 (1991), when a defendant is arrested without a warrant, a judge or magistrate must make a probable cause determination within 48 hours of the arrest.  Pursuant to Rule 4.3(a)(1)(iii) and 4.3(b)(3), ARCrP, when a defendant is arrested with or without a warrant, a judge or magistrate must conduct an initial appear​ance hearing within 72 hours of arrest if the defendant has not obtained his or her release from jail.


Regarding your question whether a probable cause determination or initial appearance hearing may be conducted by a judge over a speaker​phone when he or she is out of town, no authority could be located that would authorize this practice.  Section 15-26-1 of the Code of Alabama authorizes the use of audio-video equipment in lieu of a personal appear​ance before a judge or magistrate for “a first or subsequent appearance, bail, arraignment, or other pre-trial proceeding,” but provides the follow​ing restrictions:


The audio-video communication shall enable the judge or magistrate to see and con​verse simultaneously with the defendant or other person and operate so that the defendant and his or her counsel, if any, can communicate pri​vately, and so that the defendant and his or her counsel are both physically present in the same place during the audio-video communication.  The signal of the audio-video communication shall be transmitted live and shall be secure from interception through lawful means by anyone other than the persons communicating. . . .

ALA. CODE § 15-26-1 (Supp. 1998).


Section 15-26-6 of the Code of Alabama provides:


For any proceeding which is required to be open to the public, television monitors shall be situated in the courtroom and at the place of incarceration to ensure the public, the court, and the defendant a clear view of the proceedings.

ALA. CODE § 15-26-6 (Supp. 1998).

CONCLUSION


Although section 15-26-1 of the Code expressly authorizes the use of an audio-video communication device for initial appearance hearings so that defendants will not be required to be brought physically before the judge, no law currently authorizes the use of a speakerphone for any pre-trial hearing.

QUESTION 2


Does the 72-hour rule apply to alias war​rants for failure to appear (FTA) or warrants for nonpayment of fines and costs due after adjudi​cation?

FACTS AND ANALYSIS


The Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals has held that the purpose of requiring a probable cause determination and initial appearance is “to ensure that defendants are not forgotten and left in jail without procedural due process.”  Dutell v. State, 596 So. 2d 624 (Ala. Crim. App. 1991).  See Ex parte James C. Hutto, 720 So. 2d 1051 (Ala. Crim. App. 1998); Bush v. State, 695 So. 2d 70 (Ala. Crim. App. 1995); Hardeman v. State, 651 So. 2d 59 (Ala. Crim. App. 1994).  Rule 4.4, ARCrP, establishes pro​cedures for initial appearance hearings, with the purpose of complying with the procedural dictates of Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966), and Escobedo v. Illinois, 378 U.S. 478 (1964), and for determining condi​tions of release in an expeditious manner.  The criminal rules do not, however, create an exception in regard to the probable cause or initial appearance procedure required by Rule 4, ARCrP.


Although a separate offense is not always charged in instances involving FTAs, when a defendant fails to appear on a traffic charge, sec​tion 32-1-4(a) of the Code of Alabama provides that he or she “shall be guilty of a misdemeanor regardless of the disposition of the charge upon which he was originally charged.”  ALA. CODE § 32-1-4(a) (Supp. 1998).  For non-traffic cases, section 13A-10-39 of the Code establishes the crime of “Bail Jumping in the first degree,” a Class C felony, for a defendant who, released from custody, fails to appear in connection with a charge of murder or any Class A or B felony.  ALA. CODE § 13A-10-39 (1994).  Section 13A-10-40 of the Code establishes the crime of “Bail Jumping in the second degree,” a Class A misdemeanor, for persons who fail to appear in connection with any misdemeanor or Class C felony charge.  ALA. CODE § 13A-10-40 (1994).  Alternatively, the judge may cite a defendant who fails to appear with contempt, pursuant to Rule 33.3, ARCrP.  Rule 33.3(c), ARCrP, provides that no person shall be arrested unless the contempt citation is accompanied by an arrest warrant.


Additionally, Rule 27.4, ARCrP, provides that a judge may order the arrest of a probationer who fails to fulfill any condition of probation and initiate revocation proceedings against him or her.  Rule 27.5, ARCrP, requires that an initial appearance hearing be held when a proba​tioner is arrested for violating a condition of probation.  The rule provides that a probationer “shall be taken without unnecessary delay before the judge who issued the warrant or summons, if available, or, in case of an arrest without a warrant, before the original sentencing judge, if avail​able; otherwise, the probationer shall be taken before another judge. . . .”  ARCrP Rule 27.5 (emphasis added).  Under the circumstances described above in which a defendant is arrested, Rule 4.3(b)(3), ARCrP, read in para materia with Rule 27.5, requires a judge or magistrate to conduct an initial appearance hearing within 72 hours of arrest if the defendant has not obtained his or her release from jail, since no other authority estab​lishes a different procedure.


Regarding circumstances where a defendant fails to pay court-ordered monies, Rule 26.11, ARCrP, provides that a judge must conduct a hearing to determine the financial means of a defendant for the payment of court-ordered fines and costs, and authorizes imprisonment for non-indigent defendants who fail to pay.  Rule 27.2, ARCrP, authorizes a judge to order a defendant to pay court costs and fines as a condition of probation.  As previously discussed, in cases involving breaches of con​ditions of probation, including conditions requiring payment of fines, costs, restitution, or other court-ordered assessments, the court must con​duct an initial appearance hearing upon the arrest of a probationer before the probationer is incarcerated.  The court must inquire into the proba​tioner’s financial status and determine whether the probationer is indigent since incarceration of an indigent for nonpayment is prohibited.

CONCLUSION


When a defendant is arrested for failure to appear or failure to pay, Rule 4.3(b)(3), ARCrP, requires that a judge or magistrate conduct an initial appearance hearing within 72 hours of arrest if the defendant has not obtained his or her release from jail.


I hope this opinion answers your questions.  If this Office can be of further assistance, please contact Eric Locke, Legal Division, Adminis​trative Office of Courts.

Sincerely,

BILL PRYOR

Attorney General

By:

CAROL JEAN SMITH

Chief, Opinions Division
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