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An application for compensation
to the ACVCC may meet
eligibility for compensation
based solely on the criminal
offense of violating § 32-10-1,
leaving the scene of an
accident, depending on the
circumstances of the case.

Dear Ms. Morgan:

This is in response to your request for an opinion from the
Attorney General regarding compensation of victims injured in
automobile accidents as a result of which the charge of leaving
the scene of an accident was filed against a person involved in
that accident.

QUESTION

Is the criminal offense of leaving the scene
of an accident capable of causing or
resulting in criminal injurious conduct
thereby making a victim of the accident
eligible for compensation from the Alabama
Crime Victims Compensation Commission?

FACTS, LAW AND ANALYSIS

Section 32-10-1(a), Code of Alabama 1975, prescribes that:
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"The driver of any motor vehicle involved in
an accident resulting in injury to or the
death of any person, or in damage to a motor
vehicle or other vehicle which is driven or
attended by any person, shall immediately
stop such vehicle at the scene of such
accident or as close thereto as possible and
shall then forthwith return to in every
event and remain at the scene of the
accident until he has fulfilled the
requirements of Section 32-10-3."

Further, Section 32-10-2, Code of Alabama 1975, imposes
duties to give information and render aid to persons injured in
such accidents.

The penalty for a violation of Section 32-10-1 is contained
in Section 32-10-6 and provides for punishment by a fine of not
more than $5,000.00, or by imprisonment in the county or
municipal jail or hard labor for the county for not less than
30 days or more than one year, or by imprisonment in
the penitentiary for not less than one nor more than five
years, or by both such fine and hard labor or imprisonment.
Upon a grand jury indictment, leaving the scene of an accident
in violation of the noted section may be punished either as a
misdemeanor or as a felony. Kennedy v. State, 30 Ala. App.
676, 107 So.2nd 913 (1958).

Section 15-23-2(a), Code of Alabama 1975, defines
criminally injurious conduct as:

"An act occurring or attempted within the
geographical boundaries of this state which
results in serious personal injury or death
to a victim for which punishment by fine,
imprisonment or death may be imposed; . . ."

Thus, in order to properly answer the question posed, the
conclusion must be reached of whether the act of leaving the
scene of an accident meets the first prerequisite of the
definition of criminally injurious conduct by resulting in
serious personal injury or death to a victim of the accident in
question.

While on one hand it might be argued that the offense of
leaving the scene of an accident (LSA) must, by definition, be
committed after the accident has occurred and, therefore, the
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commission of this offense could not logically cause injury to
another party to the accident, such a narrow construction of
both the LSA and Crime Victims Compensation Acts would thwart
the intent of both statutes. For various reasons, there appear
to be occasions in which the only criminal offense charged in
certain motor vehicle accidents is LSA. If a victim is
seriously injured or even killed in such a situation, public
policy, given the legislative intent of the ACVCC Act appears
to dictate that the innocent victim not be penalized because
the evidence points to one criminal charge over another.
Further, while LSA may not be a direct "cause" of injuries, it
appears clear that 51gn1f1cant exacerbation of what otherwise
would be minor injuries to a victim in such a case "result," if
the immediate aid contemplated by the statute is not rendered
by the would-be offender to the victim. Since public policy
makes it a crime not to render such aid, that same public
policy would tend to dictate that injuries developed from
committing this crime should be compensable.

Therefore, there are instances when a victim compensation
claim arising out of a leaving the scene of an accident charge
may be compensable. As in the case of claims made under other
criminal statutes, crime victims will be better served by such
determinations being made in the discretion of Alabama Crime
Victims Compensation Commission on a case-by-case basis.

CONCLUSION

It is the opinion of the Attorney General that an
application for compensatlon to the Alabama Crime Victims
Compensation Commission, which is based upon the criminal
offense of leaving the scene of an accident, may be an eligible
claim. Claims under the LSA statute, as under other c¢riminal
statutes, should be examined on a case-by-case basis, in the
normal course, by the Commission.

I hope this response sufficiently answers your question.
If this office can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate
to contact me.

Sincerely,

DON SIEGELMAN
Attorney General

By:

DENNIS M. WRIGH
Assistant Attorney General
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