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Beverage Control Law - Minors

From the language of Code of

Alabama 1975, § 28-1-5, which

expressly prohibits any person
under the age of twenty-one
from purchasing, consuming,
possessing or transporting
alcoholic beverages within the
state, the legislature
implicitly repealed that
portion of § 28-4-200 which
provides that any person
nineteen years of age or over
may legally possess specified
amounts of alcoholic beverages
in dry county in the state.

The age of twenty-one should he
substituted for age nineteen in
§ 28-4-200.

This opinion is issued in response to your request for an
opinion from the Attorney General.

QUESTION

While Code of Alabama 1975, § 28-4-200

provides that in dry counties any person
nineteen years of age or over shall be
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entitled to possess alcoholic beverages in
specified places and amounts, this appears
to conflict with Code of Alabama 1975,

§ 28-1-5, which states that it shall be
unlawful for a person under the age of
twenty-one to possess alcoholic beverages in
the state. Please advise us as to which
code section governs the purchase and
possession of alcoholic beverages.

FACTS AND ANALYSIS

Code of Alabama 1975, § 28-1-5 provides in pertinent part:

"Notwithstanding the provisions of
section 26-1-1, it shall be unlawful for a
person less than 21 years of age to
purchase, consume, possess or transport any
alcohol, ligquor or malt or brewed beverages
within the state of Alabama."

The effective date of § 28-1-5 was May 29, 1985. Code of
Alabama 1975, § 26-1-1 merely provides that the age of majority
in this state is nineteen years.

Code of Alabama 1975, § 28-4-200 provides:

"Any person 19 years of age or over
shall be entitled to have in his possession
in his motor wvehicle or a private residence
or place of private residence or the
curtilage thereof in any dry county in this
state for his own private use and not for
resale not more than the following quantity
of alecoholic beverages, as enumerated and
defined in section 28-3-1, when such
beverages have been sold or distributed by
and through a state liquor store operated by
the Alabama alcoholic beverage control board
or a licensee of such board, and the
containers of such beverages have affixed
thereto such mark or identification and
sufficient revenue stamps as to show that
such alcoholic beverages were sold or
distributed by a state liquor store or a
licensee of the Alabama alcoholic beverage
control board and that the required tax has
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been paid: three gquarts of liquor and one
case of malt or brewed beverages or three
quarts of wine and one case of malt or
brewed beverages; provided, however, that no
alcoholic beverages shall be kept, stored or
possessed in the passenger area of any
vehicle or in the view of any passenger."”

It is the opinion of this office that that part of
§ 28-4-200 which reads "[alny person 19 years of age or over"
was implicitly repealed by the passage of § 28-1-5 and
§ 28-4-200 should now read, "[alny person 21 years of age or
over ..." ~

The doctrine of repeal by implication is succinctly stated
in 73 am.Jur.2d, p. 510, §§ 3%92-397, as follows:

"rhe fact that an act does not contain
either a general or specific repealing
clause does not prevent its repealing a
prior act. Thus, an act may be repealed by
implication as well as by express terms. A
portion of a statute may also be repealed by
implication. The doctrine of repeal by
implication rests on the ground that the
last expression of the legislative will
ought to control. The implication of a
repeal, in order to be ‘operative, must be
necessary, or necessarily follow from the
language used, because the last statute
admits of no other reasonable construc-
tion." [Footnotes omitted]

Moreover, the courts of this state have held that although
the doctrine of repeal by implication is not favored, when two
laws are so repugnant or in conflict with each other, it must
be presumed that the latter should repeal the former. See City
of Tuscaloosa v. Alabama Retail Assocjation, 466 S0.24d 103
[Ala.1985); Merrell v. City of Huntsville, 460 So.2d 1248
(Ala.l1984). -

In enacting § 28-1-5, the legislature expressly prohibited
any one under the age of twenty-one from purchasing, consuming,
possessing or transporting alcoholic beverages within the State
of Alabama. If a person under the age of twenty-one is
prohibited from buying, drinking, possessing or transporting
alcoholic beverages in the state, then it necessarily follows
that the age of twenty-one is the controlling age in any county
in this state, be it wet or dry.
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We therefore hold that the age of nineteen years found in
§ 28-4-200 was implicitly repealed by the enactment of § 28-1-5
and that the age of twenty-one is the minimum age at which
alcoholic beverages may be legally purchased, consumed,
possessed or transported in the state.

CONCLUSION

From the language of Code of Alabama 1975, § 28-1-5, which
expressly prohibits any person iess than twenty-one years of
age from purchasing, consuming, possessing or transporting
alcoholic beverages within the state, the legislature impli-
citly repealed that portion of § 28-4-200 which provides that
any person nineteen years of age or over may legally possess
specified amounts of alcoholic beverages in a dry county in the
state.

The age of twenty-one should thekefore be substituted for
age nineteen in § 28-4-200. :

I hope this sufficiently answers your question. If our
office can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to
contact us.

Sincerely,

DON SIEGELMAN
Attorney General
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AN WILLTAMS BROWN
Assistant Attorney General
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