. P3.00/0%
OFrFice OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

CHARLES A. GRADDICK

JAMES R. SOLOMON. IR . ATTORNEY GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE BUILDING

OCEPUTY ATTORNEY GENERAL 64 NORTH UNiON STREET
STATE OF ALABAMA MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA 361 30
WiLLiaM M. BEXKURS. UK.
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT .
;—:p\ 9 B ‘53 (205) B32-5640
WALTER S. TURNER bk - HERBERT |. BURSON. JR,
CHIEF ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL B. Frawk LOEB

RON BowDEN
JOHN J BATCKENRIDGE
Wicoiam L THOMPSON
ASSISTANT ATTORNEYS GENERAL
REVENUE DEPARTMENT

JANIE NOBLES
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT

Honorable Jerry B. Jones
Tax Assessor, Etowah County
Room 109, Courthouse
Gadsden, AL 35901

Ad Valorem Taxes -- Assessments

Recomputation at market value of property
formerly assessed at current use value
applies where property is actually con-
verted to non-qualified use.

Additional taxes resulting from recompu-
tation charged against owner on October 1
next succeeding year of conversion.

Recomputed fair market value of property
based upon use at time of conversion.

Dear Mr. Jones:
In your request for an opinion dated December 21, 1982, you ask the

following questions with respect to §6 of Act No. 135, 1978 Alabama Legis-
lature, now codified at §40-7-25.3, Code of Alabama 1975:

1. Upon the sale or disposition of taxable property
where the new owner does not apply for Current
Use, is there a charge back for the 3 years it was
assessed under Current Use?

2. If there is a charge back, to whom is the charge
back assessed, the one who had assessed under
Current Use or the new owner?

3. If the Use does change, is the charge back for the
three years assessed as class 3 property or is the
charge back assessed as class 2 property?



4. If a parcel of property is assessed under Current
Use and this property is then subdivided into lots
and the appraisal is based on a lot basis instead of
acreage tract, is the charge back based on the value
of each lot or is the charge back based on the
appraisal of acreage tracts?

5. If a person has 100 acres assessed under Current
Use and he deeds one of his children one acre and
he builds a house on this one acre, is there a
charge back on that one acre? If so, would the one
acre be class 3 property or class 2 property for the
3 year charge back?

6. If an owner assesses a tract of land under Current
Use and he later builds a house or commercial build-
ing on that tract of land, would there be a charge
back on the portion of the tract that has become a
homesite or business site?

7. Also, once a person has claimed Current Use under
Act 135, can he later withdraw that parcel or a
portion of that parcel from Current Use? If so, can
he change the Use on the portion withdrawn without
having a charge back on previous years?

Your question No. 1 is an answered in the negative. Section 40-7-25.3
states that the tax recomputation provided therein will apply only where "the
sale or other disposition of taxable property qualified for assessment based on
its current use value results in or is followed by the conversion of such
property, within two years from the date of sale or other disposition, to a
use that is not so qualified.” (Emphasis added) Therefore, the applicability
of 840-7-25.3 is based upon the conversion of the property to a use which is
not qualified to be assessed at current use value rather than being based
upon the failure of the new owner to apply for current use valuation.

In answer to question No. 2, in those situations in which §40-7-25.3
applies, the recomputation, or charge back contained therein is made against
the owner on October 1 next succeeding the year in which the property is
converted to a non-qualified use. This section provides:

The owner of taxable property qualified for assessment at
its current use value which is converted to a use not so
qualified shall so notify the tax assessor of the county in
which such property is located, on and after October 1
but not later than January 1 in the taxable year next
succeeding the taxable year in which such conversion is
made. . . .[the recomputed] amount shall be additional
taxes to be levied and collected on the first assessment
lists prepared subsequent to such conversion in the same
manner and at the same time as other taxes and shall
constitute a lien on such property to the same extent as
other taxes, as provided in §40-1-3.



The above quoted portions of §40-7-25.3 provide that the taxpayer must
notify the tax assessor of a conversion to a non-qualified use between
October 1 and January 1 next succeeding the conversion. The tax assessor
then recomputes additional taxes based on market value for the three prior
years. The additional taxes are assessed as of October 1 next succeeding the
date of conversion and are to be collected beginning on the following October
1 for the tax year next succeeding the yvear of conversion.

In answer to question No. 3, §40-7-25.3 requires that the tax assessor
"compute the amount of ad valorem taxes that would have been payable with
respect to such converted property if the sales price or the fair and
reasonable market value of such property at the time of its conversion,
whichever is greater, had been used instead of the current use value of such
property in computing the amount of taxes payable with respect to such
property for each of the three ad valorem tax years preceding the tax vyear
beginning on October 1 next succeeding the conversion of such property."
The fair market value at the time of the property's conversion would neces-
sarily be based upon the use at the time of its conversion. It would be
classified based upon this use. The purpose of the statute is to recapture
for three years the taxes which would have been paid had the owner not been
granted current use valuation. The assessment of the property for purposes
of recomputing the taxes would therefore be based vpon the class 3
assessment rate.

In answer to question No. 4, the recomputed value under §40-7-25.3
would be based upon the status of the property at the time of conversion.
The fair market value at the time of conversion would be based upon the use
of the property as an acreage tract.

In answer to question No. 5, §40-7-25.3 provides that "if such converted
property constitutes only a portion of a parcel so qualified on the assessment
lists, the tax assessor shall apportion the assessment of such parcel on the
first assessment lists prepared subsequent to the conversion and enter the
apportioned amount attributable to the portion converted as a separately
assessed parcel on the assessment lists. Such apportionment shall be made
for each of the years to which additional taxes apply." In the situation
which you describe, it appears that the conversion of the one acre to a
homesite does not constitute the conversion of said one acre to a "use that is
not so qualified" where the owner of the home occupies it. The recomputation
provided in §40-7-25.3 applies only where the use of property assessed at its
current use value is changed to a use which disqualifies the property for
current use valuation. Your question is therefore answered in the negative if
the home is occupied by the owner thereof. If the home is not occupied by
its owner, then it constitutes class 2 property and the provisions of
§40-7-25.3 apply to the one acre homesite. As stated in my answers to
questions 3 and 4, the property would be classified based upon its use at the
time of conversion for purposes of assessment. The one acre would be con-
sidered class 3 property for purposes of the recomputation.

Your question No. 6 is answered in the affirmative as to the business
site. The same reasoning applicable to question No. 5 applies to this
question. The answer as to the homesite depends on whether the homesite
qualifies for current use valuation.



Question No. 7 is answered in the affirmative. A taxpayer may withdraw
his application for current use valuation. The answer to the second part of
question 7 depends upon the facts. A taxpayer who converts property to a
non-qualified use may be charged back for certain periods in whieh the
property was given current use valuation, even though he withdrew his
application for current use valuation before the conversion, if the conversion
takes place within three years of the withdrawal. The charge back is con-
fined to the three "tax vears preceding the tax year beginning on October 1
next succeeding the conversion of such property."

Sincerely,

CHARLES A. GRADDICK
Assistant Attorney General
By-
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RON BOWDEN
Assistant Attorney General
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